Southwest Conference

The Southwest Conference (SWC) was a college athletic conference in the United States from 1914 to 1996. It consisted of schools mostly in the state of Texas and one in Arkansas, with historical members in Oklahoma.

The charter members of the conference were Baylor University, Oklahoma A&M University (now Oklahoma State University), Rice University, Southwestern University (in Georgetown, Texas), Texas A&M University, the University of Arkansas, the University of Oklahoma, and the University of Texas.

Read more about Southwest ConferenceMembers, Commissioners, Popular Culture

Other articles related to "southwest conference, conference, southwest":

Southern Methodist University Football Scandal - Background
... determined by the Dickinson System), 10 Southwest Conference titles, and had attended 11 bowl games ... They posted a record of 45-5-1 and won three Southwest Conference titles ... in the last game of the season in order to lock up the conference title and a spot in the Cotton Bowl, rather than risk a two-point conversion that could have won the game ...
Chuck Reedy - Coaching Career - Baylor
... to finish 7–4 in the regular season and tie with four other schools for the Southwest Conference championship before losing to Washington State in the Alamo Bowl ... and road wins over two of the eventual Southwest Conference co-champions, 42–18 over TCU and 17–14 over Rice ... Baylor performed well in Southwest Conference (SWC) play, carrying a 5–1 conference record and a SWC title shot into their season finale at Texas on Thanksgiving Day ...
Southwest Conference - Popular Culture
... Kennedy referenced Southwest Conference with the question, "Why does Rice play Texas?" in his September 12, 1962 "Moon Speech" delivered at Rice ... Ewing (played by Patrick Duffy) said he had been "All-Southwest Conference" in football ...
Texas A&M Aggies Football - Rivalries - Active Rivalries - Arkansas Razorbacks
... From 1934–1991, the two teams played annually as Southwest Conference members ... In 1991, however, Arkansas left the Southwest Conference to join the Southeastern Conference ... The game is dubbed "The Southwest Classic", which pays homage to both schools' past relationship to the Southwest Conference ...
MSC Town Hall - Athletics - Basketball
... Founded in 1912, the men's basketball team won 11 Southwest Conference championships and 2 Southwest Conference Tournament championships ... The women's basketball team has 1 Southwest Conference Tournament championship,1 regular season Big 12 Conference championship and 2 Big 12 Tournament championships, most recently in 2011 ... his second season and leading the Aggies into the Southeastern Conference ...

Famous quotes containing the word conference:

    Reading maketh a full man; conference a ready man; and writing an exact man.
    Francis Bacon (1561–1626)