South Yorkshire

South Yorkshire is a metropolitan county in the Yorkshire and the Humber region of England. It has a population of 1.34 million (2011). It consists of four metropolitan boroughs: Barnsley, Doncaster, Rotherham and Sheffield. South Yorkshire was created on 1 April 1974 as a result of the Local Government Act 1972.

Lying on the east side of the Pennines, South Yorkshire is landlocked, and borders Derbyshire (to the south-west), West Yorkshire (to the northwest), North Yorkshire (to the north), the East Riding of Yorkshire (to the northeast), Lincolnshire (to the east) and Nottinghamshire (to the southeast). The Sheffield Urban Area is the ninth most populous conurbation in the UK, and dominates the western half of South Yorkshire with over half of the county's population living within it.

South Yorkshire County Council was abolished in 1986, and so its districts (the metropolitan boroughs) are now effectively unitary authority areas; however, the metropolitan county, which is some 1,552 square kilometres (599 sq mi), continues to exist in law and as a geographic frame of reference. As a ceremonial county, South Yorkshire has a Lord Lieutenant and a High Sheriff.

South Yorkshire was created from 32 local government districts of the West Riding of Yorkshire (the administrative county and four independent county boroughs), with small areas from Derbyshire and Nottinghamshire.

Read more about South YorkshireHistory, Geography, Governance, Economy, Places of Interest

Other articles related to "south yorkshire, yorkshire, south":

List Of Tripoints Of England - Ceremonial County Tripoints
... Midlands SO889813 Shropshire Worcestershire Staffordshire SO805841 Derbyshire South Yorkshire West Yorkshire SE118027 Derbyshire Nottinghamshire South ... Gloucestershire ST812865 Avon Somerset Wiltshire ST799585 Cleveland Durham North Yorkshire NZ196157 ...
Sheffield Archives - History of Archive Collecting in Sheffield - 1974 - 1986
... creation of a new (county) tier of local government for South Yorkshire, the South Yorkshire County Council established a county record office service ... until the abolition of the metropolitan county councils in 1986, the South Yorkshire County Record Office (SYCRO) based at Ellin Street in Sheffield, acquired material relating to the county ...
List Of People From South Yorkshire
... The list of people from South Yorkshire, in northern England, is divided by metropolitan borough ... South Yorkshire is a metropolian county created in 1974 and so people from the area before this year were from the earlier West Riding of Yorkshire Sheffield Rotherham Doncaster Barnsley Ceremonial ...
Sheffield Archives - History of Archive Collecting in Sheffield - 1945 - 1960
... the chair at the meeting it was decided to set up a South Yorkshire committee of the National Register ... of the National Register, was faced with a particular South Yorkshire problem at this time ... The full-time appointment of an archivist as the National Register of Archives, South Yorkshire committee's representative (working from the Central Library) for about ...

Famous quotes containing the word south:

    The developments in the North were those loosely embraced in the term modernization and included urbanization, industrialization, and mechanization. While those changes went forward apace, the antebellum South changed comparatively little, clinging to its rural, agricultural, labor-intensive economy and its traditional folk culture.
    C. Vann Woodward (b. 1908)