Six Nations Championship

The Six Nations Championship, known for sponsorship reasons as the RBS 6 Nations, is an annual international rugby union competition involving six European sides: England, France, Ireland, Italy, Scotland and Wales.

The Six Nations is the successor to the Five Nations Championship (1910–31 and 1947–99) which in turn succeeded the Home Nations Championship (1883–1909 and 1932–39). The Home Nations Championship, played between teams from England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales, was the first international rugby union tournament. The winners of the Six Nations Championship are also known as the European Champions.

Wales are the current title holders, winning each of its matches played during the 2012 Championship, to achieve a Triple Crown and Grand Slam.

Read more about Six Nations Championship:  Format, Current Venues, Anthems, Five Nations XV, Records, Six Nations Points Scoring Statistics 2000–2012, Expansion, Administration, Television Contracts and Sponsorship

Other articles related to "nations, six nations championship, championship":

2005 Tri Nations Series
... The 2005 Tri Nations Series, an annual rugby union competition between the national teams of Australia, New Zealand and South Africa, was the tenth in the series ... This was the last year in which the Tri Nations was contested in its original double round-robin format, with each team playing the others twice ... Challenge Plate between Australia and South Africa was contested outside the Tri Nations ...
2001 Tri Nations Series
... The 2001 Tri Nations Series was contested from 21 July to 1 September between the Australia, New Zealand and South Africa national rugby union teams ... match, to successfully defend the Tri Nations trophy ...
Six Nations Championship - Administration, Television Contracts and Sponsorship
... The Championship is run from headquarters in Dublin which also takes responsibility for the British and Irish Lions tours ... CEO of the Championship is John Feehan, a former Leinster player ... In Ireland, RTÉ have broadcast the championship since their inception ...
United Nations System - United Nations - Trusteeship Council
... The United Nations Trusteeship Council, one of the principal organs of the United Nations, was established to help ensure that trust territories were ... of them former mandates of the League of Nations or territories taken from nations defeated at the end of World War II—have all now attained self-government or independence, either as separate ... Pacific Islands, which became a member state of the United Nations in December 1994 ...
United Nations System
... The United Nations system consists of the United Nations, its subsidiary organs (including the separately-administered funds and programmes), the specialized agencies, and affiliated ... The executive heads of the United Nations system organizations and the World Trade Organization (which is not a member of the United Nations system ... This body, chaired by the Secretary-General of the United Nations, meets twice a year to coordinate the work of the organizations of the United ...

Famous quotes containing the word nations:

    The peace loving nations must make a concerted effort in opposition to those violations of treaties and those ignorings of humane instincts which today are creating a state of international anarchy and instability from which there is no escape through mere isolation or neutrality.... When an epidemic of physical disease starts to spread, the community approves and joins in a quarantine of the patients in order to protect the health of the community against the spread of the disease.
    Franklin D. Roosevelt (1882–1945)