Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce - Special Awards

Special Awards

Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce first won the Golden Cleats Award for female Athlete of the Year in 2010. Fraser-Pryce was awarded because of her gold medal performance at the 2009 Berlin IAAF World Championships in the 100 meters and a gold medal in the 4 x 100 meter relay as well. For Fraser-Pryce's outstanding accomplishments in last year's 2012 London Olympic Games, Fraser-Pryce won the Golden Cleats Award for female Athlete of the Year for the second time. The awards ceremony is sponsored by the Jamaica Athletics Administrative Association in January 2013. Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce is the third woman in history to repeat as the 100 meter Olympic Champion from the 2008 Beijing Olympics and also the 2012 London Olympics. As a result, she was awarded female Athlete of the Year in January 2013 for her gold medal performance at the 2012 London Olympic Games in the women's 100 meters, her silver medal performance in the 200 meters and helped the Jamaican 4 x 100 meter relay team win a silver medal. In accepting her award, she exclaimed, "It was a long year, as it was my final year in college, but it was a very important year for me as I wanted to repeat my title and wanted to win. I have to give God thanks for everything that happened last year.".

Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, the fastest women on earth, competed with Britain’s Jessica Ennis, for the Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year Award. The award recognizes sporting achievement during the year 2012.Especially recognizing successful performances at the 2012 London Olympic Games. The winners are determined by votes made up of 46 of the greatest sportsmen and sportswomen of all time. The awards ceremony was televised on March 11, 2013. Unfortunately, Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce lost the award to Jessica Ennis, the gold medalist for the women’s heptathlon in London 2012, who also won the top honour, and the Laureus Sports Award.

Read more about this topic:  Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce

Other articles related to "special awards, award, awards, special award":

List Of Awards And Nominations Received By Christopher Walken - Awards and Nominations - Awards For Film - Special Awards
... Year Ceremony Award 1995 Gotham Awards Actor Award 1998 USA Film Festival Master Screen Artist Tribute 1999 Florida Film Festival Artistic Achievement Award ...
Coty Award - Recipients of The Award - 1970-1979
1970 Winnies Giorgio di Sant' Angelo Chester Weinberg Return Award Herbert Kasper Hall of Fame Award Bill Blass Special Awards Will Eileen Richardson of Up Tied (Tie-dyed. 1973 Winnies Stephen Burrows Calvin Klein Hall of Fame Award Oscar de la Renta Special Awards Clovis Ruffin (original young fashion) Joe Famolare (sho ... exercise and sports clothing) Menswear Award Robert Stock Menswear Hall of Fame Citation Bill Kaiserman 1979 Winnie Perry Ellis Hall of Fame Award Mary McFadden Hall of ...
List Of Awards And Nominations Received By Clint Eastwood - Awards and Nominations - Special Awards
... Year Ceremony Award 1971 Golden Globes Henrietta Award 1980 American Movie Awards Special Marquee 1982 ShoWest Convention Special Award Male Star of the Decade ... DeMille Award 1991 Hasty Pudding Theatricals Man of the Year 1993 Golden Boot Awards Golden Boot ShoWest Convention ShoWest Award – Director of the Year 1995 Academy Awards Irving G ... Thalberg Memorial Award Hamburg Film Festival Douglas Sirk Award 1996 ASCAP Film and Television Music Awards ASCAP Award (Top Box Office Films) American Film Institute Life Achievement Award Film Society of ...
Coty Award - Recipients of The Award - 1980-1984
1980 Winnie Michaele Vollbracht Special Awards Jeffrey Aronoff (handwoven fabrics) Stewart Richer for Reminiscence (retailers) Menswear Award Jhane Barnes Menswear Special Award Ron Chereskin ... Winnies Calvin Klein Perry Ellis Geoffrey Beene Special Awards Barry Kieselstein-Cord (jewellery) Alex Mate Lee Brooks (jewellery) Fernando Sánchez Fabrice Simon (beaded evening wear) Hot ...

Famous quotes containing the word special:

    The universal social pressure upon women to be all alike, and do all the same things, and to be content with identical restrictions, has resulted not only in terrible suffering in the lives of exceptional women, but also in the loss of unmeasured feminine values in special gifts. The Drama of the Woman of Genius has too often been a tragedy of misshapen and perverted power.
    Anna Garlin Spencer (1851–1931)