Sequenza is the name borne by fourteen compositions for solo instruments or voice by Luciano Berio. The word "sequenza" means "sequence" in Italian. The pieces, which often call for extended techniques, are:

  • Sequenza I (1958; rev. 1992) for flute
  • Sequenza II (1963) for harp
  • Sequenza III (1965) for female voice
  • Sequenza IV (1965) for piano
  • Sequenza V (1966) for trombone
  • Sequenza VI (1967) for viola
  • Sequenza VII (1969) for oboe (reworked as Sequenza VIIb for soprano saxophone)
  • Sequenza VIII (1976) for violin
  • Sequenza IX (1980) for clarinet (reworked 1981 as Sequenza IXb for alto saxophone, and 1980 as Sequenza IXc for bass clarinet)
  • Sequenza X (1984) for trumpet and piano resonance
  • Sequenza XI (1987) for guitar
  • Sequenza XII (1995) for bassoon
  • Sequenza XIII (1995) for accordion
  • Sequenza XIV (2002) for cello (reworked in 2004 as Sequenza XIVb for double bass)

Several of these pieces became the basis of larger works: Sequenza II, with the addition of extra instrumental parts around the original solo, became Chemins I; Sequenza VI developed into Chemins II, Chemins IIb, Chemins IIc and Chemins III; Sequenza VII became Chemins IV; Sequenza XI became Chemins V; Sequenza X became Kol-Od, also known as Chemins VI; Sequenza IXb became Récit, also known as Chemins VII; and Sequenza VIII became Corale.

Conversely, Sequenza IX had grown out of a piece for clarinet and electronics which Berio later withdrew (this original piece was known as Chemins V; it is a different piece to the one now known by that name).

Other articles related to "sequenza":

Sequenza X
... Sequenza X is a composition for trumpet and piano by Luciano Berio, the tenth in his series of pieces with this title ... from 1969 to 1997, who convinced Berio to write a Sequenza for trumpet, despite years of resistance to the idea ... Sequenza X is for trumpet and piano, however the piano is only used as a resonator ...
Sequenza IV
... Sequenza IV for solo piano (composed in 1965–66, revised in 1993) is the fourth in a series of solo Sequenze by Luciano Berio that started with the publication of Sequenza I for solo flute (1958 rev ... into a conclusion of staccato chords similar to those at the outset of the Sequenza (Flynn 1975, 418) ...
Sequenza II
... Sequenza II is a composition for unaccompanied harp by the Italian composer Luciano Berio ... Because of this, Sequenza II defies many of the stereotypes associated with the harp ... In the liner notes of the 1999 Ensemble InterContemporain recording, Berio wrote of Sequenza II, "French impressionism has left us with a rather limited version of the ...
Stephan Vermeersch - Repertoire
... Jorgen Bentzon Tema med Variationer Luciano Berio Sequenza IXa Sequenza IXc Lied Lennox Berkely Three Pieces Massimo Botter Sedna II Pierre Boulez ...