Scott Dixon

Scott Dixon

Scott Ronald Dixon, MNZM (born 22 July 1980) is a New Zealander motor racer who became the most successful all-time driver in the Indy Racing League (IRL) championship in the United States when he won the Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio in August 2009. This took his total to 21 wins. Competing for Chip Ganassi Racing since joining IndyCar, Dixon has won the championship twice, 2003 and 2008, and he won the 92nd Indianapolis 500 in 2008 from pole position.

At Kentucky in August that year he equalled the record for six wins in a season. Known as a consistent race finisher, Dixon has twice in his IndyCar career set the record for finishing the highest number of consecutive races, 28, at Watkins Glen in 2005, and again at Mid-Ohio in 2007 He has been on the podium 48 times from the 90 races he has completed, and his ratio of wins to career starts is the best of all-time regular drivers in the IRL.

Among notable awards won by Dixon are the Jim Clark Trophy (1999, 2001, 2004) and the Bruce McLaren Trophy (2003, 2008). In 2012 he was appointed Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit.

Read more about Scott DixonEarly Years, 1994–1998, 1999–2000, Formula One, Personal Life

Other articles related to "scott, scott dixon, dixon":

2008 Indy Car Series Season - Race Summaries - Round 8: Iowa Corn Indy 250
80 °F (27 °C), Sunny Television ABC (Marty Reid, Scott Goodyear, Jack Arute, Brienne Pedigo) Nielsen ratings 1.1 Attendance 39,271 Pole Position winner No. 9 Scott Dixon (qualifying rained out lineup set by IndyCar points standings) Race Summary At the green flag, Helio Castroneves took the lead in turn 1 from polesitter Scott Dixon ... On the lap 227 restart, Marco Andretti and Scott Dixon passed Danica Patrick to take third and fourth place respectively ...
Chip Ganassi Racing - IndyCar - IndyCar Series
... of those three would drive for Ganassi in 2003 the replacements were Scott Dixon (a midseason addition to Ganassi's Champ Car team in 2002) and Tomas ... Dixon won three races and the series championship while Scheckter struggled and was released from his contract ... For 2006, Target Ganassi Racing scaled back to two cars, with Dixon returning along with 2005 Indianapolis 500 Champion Dan Wheldon, whom Ganassi signed away from Andretti Green ...
2008 Indy Car Series Season - Race Summaries - Round 6: ABC Supply Company A.J. Foyt 225
... / 232.2 miles Race weather 73 °F (23 °C), sunny Television ESPN on ABC (Marty Reid, Scott Goodyear, Jack Arute, Vince Welch, Brienne Pedigo) Nielsen ratings 0.8 Attendance 28,000 Pole Position winner No ... He was chased early by Scott Dixon and teammate Tony Kanaan ... Later in the first fuel segment, Andretti's handling started to suffer, and Scott Dixon took over the lead ...
Scott Dixon - Personal Life
... Dixon married Emma Davies, a former Welsh and British 800m champion, in February 2008 ... child, – a daughter, Poppy Davies Dixon, was born on 5 July 2009, a few hours after the end of Race 9 of the IndyCar Series at Watkins Glen ...
Ryan Briscoe - Career Biography - 2009
... He was very quick, and was battling with eventual winner Scott Dixon when a yellow flag got him down the order ... On lap 201 out of 225, Scott Dixon took advantage of Briscoe stuck behind backmarker Tomas Scheckter and passed him on the inside to win, with Briscoe second ... as well as teammate Helio Castroneves and the Ganassi cars of Scott Dixon and Franchitti behind him ...

Famous quotes containing the word scott:

    Action is character.
    —F. Scott Fitzgerald (1896–1940)