Safari Rally

The Safari Rally is rally race held in East Africa. It was first held from 27 May to 1 June 1953 as the East African Coronation Safari in Kenya, Uganda and Tanganyika, as a celebration of the coronation of Queen Elizabeth II. In 1960 it was renamed the East African Safari Rally and kept that name until 1974, when it became the Safari Rally.

The Safari Rally adopted the special stage format in 1996. From that edition until 2002, it featured over 1000 km of timed stages, with stages well over 60 km long, unlike most rallies which had under 500 km of total timed distance. This meant that the winner's total time was above 12 hours in 1996 and decreased to two seconds shy of 8 hours in 2002.

The event was part of the World Rally Championship calendar for many years until being excluded after 2002 due to lack of funding and organisation in 2003. The Kenyan government is trying to get the rally's WRC status restored. Since 2003 the event has been part of the African Rally Championship organized by the FIA. It is currently known as the KCB Safari Rally after its sponsor, Kenya Commercial Bank (KCB).

Local driver Shekhar Mehta was the most successful in the event with five outright victories (1973, 1979–1982).

Read more about Safari Rally:  Past Winners, East African Safari Rally (classic)

Other articles related to "rally, safari rally, safari":

Nicky Grist - Career - World Rally Championship - 1997–2002 Subaru & Ford
... Joined the 555 Subaru World Rally Team on a two year contract as Colin McRae’s co-driver ... to 1991 WRC seasons, where they had two consecutive wins at the Safari Rally and Rally Portugal ... retirements only finished in the February 2000 when Colin and Nicky finished 3rd in the Swedish Rally ...
East African Safari Rally (classic)
... The East African Safari Rally is a Classic rally event first held in 2003 to coincide with the 50th anniversary of the first running of the event ...
List Of World Rally Championship Records - Drivers - Age
... Driver Age Event 1 Jari-Matti Latvala 22 y, 313 d 2008 Swedish Rally 2 Henri Toivonen 24 y, 86 d 1980 RAC Rally 3 Mads Østberg 24 y, 152 d 2012 Rally Portugal 4 ...
Lars-Erik Torph - Career
... Torph debuted in the World Rally Championship during the 1980 season, competing with a Volvo 142 at the Swedish Rally and at the 1000 Lakes Rally in Finland, retiring ... At his seventh WRC event, the 1984 Swedish Rally, he took his first WRC points by finishing fifth in an Opel Ascona for the Opel Team Sweden ... home event and then placed in the points at the 1000 Lakes Rally, taking ninth place in a Volkswagen Golf GTI for the Swedish Junior Team ...
1974 Safari Rally
... The 1974 Safari Rally was the 22nd East African Safari Rally and the second round of the shortened 1974 World Rally Championship season ... The Safari Rally didn't use special stages at this time to decide a winner ... The rally was won by local driver, and Safari specialist Joginder Singh ...

Famous quotes containing the words rally and/or safari:

    I ... once witnessed more ardent emotions between men at an Elks’ Rally in Pasadena than they could ever have felt for the type of woman available to an Elk.
    Anita Loos (1888–1981)

    Pop artists deal with the lowly trivia of possessions and equipment that the present generation is lugging along with it on its safari into the future.
    —J.G. (James Graham)