Rogue Traders

Rogue Traders are an Australian electronic, pop rock band formed in 2002 by mainstay James Ash on keyboards. In 1989, Ash met fellow original member Steve Davis, in London while both were working as DJs. Before forming Rogue Traders, the pair had worked together on many projects, including the dance music act, Union State which relocated to Melbourne in 1992. The group's name comes from the 1999 drama film, Rogue Trader. They were joined in 2004 by soap opera actress, Natalie Bassingthwaighte, on lead vocals and Cameron McGlinchey on drums.

Rogue Traders have achieved chart success in Australia, with seven Top 20 hits on the ARIA Singles Chart, "One of My Kind", "Voodoo Child", "Way to Go!", "Watching You", "We're Coming Home", "Don't You Wanna Feel" and "I Never Liked You". Their most successful single, "Voodoo Child", peaked at number three on the UK Singles Chart, number four in Australia, number seven on the New Zealand Singles Chart and number fifteen on the Irish Singles Chart. The group's two Top 5 albums in Australia are Here Come the Drums (2005) and Better in the Dark (2007). In 2007 Here Comes the Drums was certified 4× platinum by ARIA for shipment of 280,000 copies, while Better in the Dark was certified platinum in 2008. As of 2008, Rogue Traders have been nominated for ten ARIA Awards, three MTV AVMA Awards, one The Nickelodeon Kids' Choice Awards, one Inside Film Award, and eight APRA Awards.

After leaving Rogue Traders in 2006, Davis continued to contribute to the band and is a part of the songwriting process. He was replaced on guitar by Tim Henwood, who left in 2007. In June 2008 Bassingthwaighte, quit the band to focus on her acting and solo music career. In July that year her boyfriend (they later married), McGlinchey, also left the band. In August 2009, Ash revealed that Henwood had returned and his replacement, Danny Spencer, had left. In November that year, Mindi Jackson was revealed as the new lead singer to replace Bassingthwaighte. Peter Marin joined on drums to replace McGlinchey.

Read more about Rogue TradersMembers, Discography, Awards and Recognition

Other articles related to "rogue traders, rogue":

Natalie Bassingthwaighte - Biography - 2004—08: Music Career and Rogue Traders Era
... as the lead singer for Australian electro-pop band, Rogue Traders ... Rogue Traders had formed in 2002 with James Ash on keyboards and Steve Davis on guitars, the group had used a variety of guest vocalists and issued a debut album before seeking a permanent singer ... In October 2007 Rogue Traders released their third album, Better in the Dark, which spawned the hit singles "Don't You Wanna Feel" and "I Never Liked You" – both were certified gold, and "What You're On" ...
Rogue Traders Discography - Remixes
... These songs have been remixed by Rogue Traders ... Year Song Artist 2003 "Obsession (I Love You)" (Rogue Traders 7" version) Amiel "Do Me Wrong" (Rogue Traders Denim Tribute mix) Melanie Blatt "The ...
Danny Spencer
... Danny Spencer is the former guitarist for Rogue Traders, taking over from previous guitarist Tim Henwood, who left due to wanting to concentrate on his band The Androids in 2007 ... With Rogue Traders frontman James Ash stating that "Tim Henwood will be leaving the Rogue's in the immediate future to concentrate on his own amazing band, The Androids" on ... Danny Spencer was first made public through the Rogue Traders forum James Ash said "His name is Danny Spencer, and he's the lucky guy that just beat out a bunch of other super talented players ...

Famous quotes containing the word rogue:

    It is said that a rogue does not look you in the face, neither does an honest man look at you as if he had his reputation to establish.
    Henry David Thoreau (1817–1862)