Renault in Formula One

Renault In Formula One

Coordinates: 51°55′12″N 1°23′25″W / 51.92°N 1.39028°W / 51.92; -1.39028

Full name Equipe Renault Elf (1977–1985)
Renault F1 Team (2002–2010)
Lotus Renault GP (2011)
Base Viry-Châtillon, Paris, France (1977–1985)
Enstone, Oxfordshire, United Kingdom (2002–2011)
Noted staff Bob Bell
Éric Boullier
Alan Permane
James Allison
Flavio Briatore
Mike Gascoyne
Jean Sage
Pat Symonds
Dino Toso
Rob White
Noted drivers Fernando Alonso
Jean-Pierre Jabouille
René Arnoux
Alain Prost
Jenson Button
Giancarlo Fisichella
Jarno Trulli
Robert Kubica
Nick Heidfeld
Vitaly Petrov
Previous name Benetton Formula
Subsequent name Lotus F1 Team
Formula One World Championship career
Debut 1977 British Grand Prix
Races competed 304
2 (2005 and 2006)
2 (2005 and 2006)
Race victories 35
Pole positions 51
Fastest laps 31
Final race 2011 Brazilian Grand Prix
Formula One portal

Renault has been associated with Formula One as both constructors and engine suppliers for various periods since 1977. It was in 1977 that the company entered Formula One as a constructor, introducing the turbo engine to Formula One in their first car, the Renault RS01. Although the Renault team won races and competed for world titles, it withdrew at the end of 1985. Renault continued its involvement as a supplier of engines to other teams, which it had started doing in 1983, until 1986, and again from 1989 to 1997.

Renault returned to Formula One in 2000 when they acquired the Enstone-based Benetton Formula team (formerly Toleman Motorsport), a team which had won the drivers' championship in 1994 and both the drivers' and constructors' championships in 1995. For the first two seasons under Renault the team continued to be called "Benetton Formula" and used "Benetton" as their constructor name. In 2002 Renault rebranded the team as the "Renault F1 Team" and started to use "Renault" as its constructor name. Under this Renault guise, the Enstone team won the drivers' and constructors' championships in 2005 and 2006.

At the end of 2009, the Renault car company sold a 75% stake in the team to the Genii Capital investment company. At the end of 2010, Renault sold its remaining 25% share to Genii, which then decided to enter into an alignment with Group Lotus.

For the 2011 Formula One season the team competed under the name Lotus Renault GP, which was the last year that the name "Renault" was used as a constructor name in Formula One.

Following the withdrawal of the Renault car company and the increased involvement of Lotus, the Enstone team was renamed to Lotus F1 Team in 2012. The team continues to be coordinated from its UK base at Enstone, Oxfordshire where the chassis are designed and built. The team continues to use engines supplied by Renault through their Renault Sport F1 enterprise in Viry-Châtillon near Paris.

Renault has also supplied engines to other teams, including Team Lotus (1983–1987), Benetton Formula (1995–1997) and Williams F1 (1989–1997). As an engine supplier, Renault has contributed to eight drivers' world championships (1992, 1993, 1995, 1996, 1997, 2010, 2011 and 2012 won by Nigel Mansell, Alain Prost, Michael Schumacher, Damon Hill, Jacques Villeneuve and Sebastian Vettel respectively) and nine constructors' world championships (1992–1997 and 2010–2012) as engine supplier for Benetton Formula, Williams F1 and Red Bull Racing. The engine supply has continued during periods when Renault was not active as a constructor in its own right.

Read more about Renault In Formula One:  History As A Constructor Team

Other articles related to "renault in formula one, renault, formula one, in formula one, formula":

Renault In Formula One - History As An Engine Supplier - 2011–present
... At the end of 2010, when Renault sold their remaining stake in the Enstone-based Formula One team, the engine operations at Viry-Châtillon were formed into a subsidiary known as Renault Sport F1 ... Renault Sport F1 continued to supply engines to their former works team and Red Bull, and expanded their customers to Lotus Racing at the end of 2010 ... That year, Williams returned to its association with Renault, signing a deal to receive the RS27 engines until the end of 2013 ...
Renault Sport
... Renault Sport Technologies (commonly known as Renault Sport, Renaultsport or RST) is the France motorsport division of Renault ... Renault Sport was responsible for Renault's sports car racing entries during the 1970s, including their win at the 24 ... Hours of Le Mans race with the Renault Alpine A442 ... Actual Renault's Formula One team, Renault F1 in the 2000s, is not a part of Renault Sport though active in Formula One until the 1990s ...
Renault Sport - Organisation
... the Mégane Renault Sport and Renaultsport Clio 197 ... Competitor in motorsport events (excluding Formula One), e.g ... of single-model vehicle championships Organiser or/and sponsor of the Formula Renault national championships ...
Renault Sport - Renault in Motorsport
... Renault is also involved in other racing series but not as Renault Sport ... Renault Clio French Super Production Championship Belgian Procar Championship BTCC with Renault Clio Williams Endurance Touring Car Series Renault Mégane TC2000 ...
Renault - Marketing and Branding - Sponsorship
... Renault sponsored and was heavily featured in Le Visionarium a time-travel film at Disneyland Paris ...

Famous quotes containing the word formula:

    I cannot give you the formula for success, but I can give you the formula for failure—which is: Try to please everybody.
    Herbert B. Swope (1882–1958)