Ranger's Apprentice

Ranger's Apprentice is a series of fantasy novels written by Australian author John Flanagan. The first novel in the series, titled The Ruins of Gorlan, was released in Australia on 1 November 2004 and in the United States on 16 June 2005. As of 2012, all eleven books have been released in Australia and New Zealand, with other countries following behind. The series follows the adventures of Will, an orphan who is taken as an apprentice Ranger, as he strives to keep the Kingdom of Araluen safe from invaders, traitors, and threats. He is joined on his adventures by his mentor Halt and his best friend Horace. Author John Flanagan has stated that he will be writing a total of twelve books (as of May 2012, he has written ten, plus one with extra short stories) for the series, however he has said he plans to work on a follow-up title taking place 16 years later. He is currently working on a new series in the same world, but with new characters and taking place in Skandia, called Brotherband Chronicles. The story takes place in a fictional world based on European medieval times. The series has sold three million copies in 16 countries around the world. The series was originally twenty short stories Flanagan wrote for his son to get him interested in reading. Ten years later, Flanagan found the stories again and decided to turn them into a book. BookPeople, a bookstore in Austin, Texas, helped promote the book through a five day camp. The series is well praised by critics. Various film companies are interested in adapting it to a film series, but film rights are still available.

Read more about Ranger's Apprentice:  Publishing History and Origins, Themes, Camp, Critical Reception, Movie

Other articles related to "ranger":

Ranger, Texas - Education
... The city is served by the Ranger Independent School District and home to the Ranger High School Bulldogs ...
The Lone Ranger - Premise
... differ, the basic story of the origin of the Lone Ranger is the same in most versions of the franchise ... A posse of six members of the Texas Ranger Division are ambushed by a band of outlaws led by Bartholomew "Butch" Cavendish ... Later, an Indian named Tonto stumbles on the scene and recognizes the lone survivor, Ranger Reid (whose first name was never given on the show), as the man who had saved his life some ...
Ranger Assessment And Selection Program
... Ranger Assessment and Selection Program (RASP) is an 8 week course held at Fort Benning, Georgia ... As of 2010, RASP replaced both the RIP (Ranger Indoctrination Program) for enlisted Soldiers and ROP (Ranger Orientation Program) for Officers, both commissioned and non-commissioned and below to ... Army's 75th Ranger Regiment ...
The Lone Ranger
... The Lone Ranger is a fictional character, a masked ex-Texas Ranger who, with his Indian companion Tonto, fights injustice in the American Old West ... To television viewers, Clayton Moore was the Lone Ranger ... Departing on his white stallion, Silver, the Lone Ranger would shout, "Hi-yo, Silver! Away!" As they galloped off, someone would ask, "Who was that masked man anyway ...
Characters - The Lone Ranger
... In every incarnation of the character to date, the Lone Ranger conducts himself by a strict moral code put in place by Striker at the inception of the character ... Trendle drew up the following guidelines that embody who and what the Lone Ranger is The Lone Ranger is never seen without his mask or a disguise ... With emphasis on logic, The Lone Ranger is never captured or held for any length of time by lawmen, avoiding his being unmasked ...

Famous quotes containing the word apprentice:

    The apprentice and the master love the master in different ways.
    Friedrich Nietzsche (1844–1900)