Purbrook Junior School - Aims


Purbrook Junior School aims to:

  • Ensure that every child matters
  • Ensure that all voices are listened to
  • Encourage respect for each other, the environment and foster links with the wider community
  • Develop spiritual and moral awareness, and an understanding of cultures and societies
  • Provide a happy, secure and purposeful environment which encourages children to develop a sense of ownership and pride in their school
  • Help children develop confidence, high self-esteem and a positive, enthusiastic attitude to life
  • Use effective and stimulating teaching to encourage all children to reach their potential and develop enquiring minds
  • Create a learning environment where expectations and standards are consistently high
  • Empower children to make decisions, respond to choices and to take an active part in their own development and learning
  • Encourage teamwork
  • Challenge children to try new experiences without the fear of failure

Read more about this topic:  Purbrook Junior School

Famous quotes containing the word aims:

    Nature seems to have treasured up the depth of our mind talents and abilities that we are not aware of; it is the privilege of the passions alone to bring them to light, and to direct us sometimes to surer and more excellent aims than conscious effort could.
    François, Duc De La Rochefoucauld (1613–1680)

    But, with whatever exception, it is still true that tradition characterizes the preaching of this country; that it comes out of the memory, and not out of the soul; that it aims at what is usual, and not at what is necessary and eternal; that thus historical Christianity destroys the power of preaching, by withdrawing it from the exploration of the moral nature of man; where the sublime is, where are the resources of astonishment and power.
    Ralph Waldo Emerson (1803–1882)

    Man lives consciously for himself, but is an unconscious instrument in the attainment of the historic, universal, aims of humanity.
    Leo Tolstoy (1829–1910)