Pretoria is a city in the northern part of Gauteng Province, South Africa. It is one of the country's three capital cities, serving as the executive (administrative) and de facto national capital; the others are Cape Town, the legislative capital, and Bloemfontein, the judicial capital.Pretoria is divided into three sections: pretoria west, east and north. Pretoria is contained within the City of Tshwane Metropolitan Municipality as one of several constituent former administrations (among which also Centurion and Soshanguve). Pretoria itself is sometimes referred to as "Tshwane" due to a long-running and controversial proposed change of name, which has yet to be decided, as of 2012.

Pretoria is named after Andries Pretorius.

Pretoria in South Africa is popularly known as The Jacaranda City due to the thousands of Jacaranda trees planted in its streets, parks and gardens.

Read more about PretoriaHistory, Geography, Climate, Demographics, Change of Name, Shopping Malls, Places of Interest

Other articles related to "pretoria":

List Of Diplomatic Missions In Angola - Non-resident Embassies
... Australia (Pretoria) Austria (Harare) Botswana (Windhoek) Cameroon (Brazzaville) Canada (Harare) Chile (Pretoria) Croatia (Lisbon) Cyprus (Lisbon) Czech Republic (Pretoria) Denmark (Lusaka ...
List Of University Of Pretoria Alumni
... The University of Pretoria is a public university in Pretoria, the administrative and de facto capital of South Africa ...
List Of Diplomatic Missions In Mauritius - Non-resident Embassies and High Commissions
... Algeria (Antananarivo) Angola (Pretoria) Argentina (Pretoria) Austria (Pretoria) Bangladesh (Dhaka) Belgium (Dar es Salaam) Benin (Pretoria) Botswana (Harare ...
... Meintjieskop is a hill in Pretoria on which the Union Buildings (die Uniegebou(e) in Afrikaans) were constructed ... He was also Pretoria’s first magistrate and was responsible for planning the layout of the city ... Meintjieskop is part of the Witwatersberg Ridge, which runs east-west through Pretoria ...