Pontifical University

A pontifical university is a type of Catholic university established by and directly under the authority of the Holy See. All ecclesiastical universities are pontifical universities, but only some catholic universities are pontifical universities.

Pontifical universities are academic institutes "established or approved directly by the Holy See, composed of three main ecclesiastical faculties (Theology, Philosophy and Canon Law) and at least one other faculty. These academic institutes deal specifically with the Christian revelation and related disciplines, and the Church’s mission of spreading the Gospel, as proclaimed in the Apostolic Constitution Sapientia christiana."

Pontifical universities follow a european system of degrees in the sacred faculties, granting the baccalaureate, the licentiate, and the doctorate.

These ecclesiastical degrees are prerequisites to certain offices in the Roman Catholic Church, especially considering that bishop candidates are selected mainly from priests who are doctors of sacred theology (S.T.D.) or canon law (J.C.D.) and that ecclesiastical judges and attorneys must at least be licentiates of canon law (J.C.L.).

Read more about Pontifical UniversityFormer Pontifical Universities

Other articles related to "pontifical university, university, pontifical":

Salesian Pontifical University
... The Salesian Pontifical University (Italian Università Pontificia Salesiana) is a pontifical university in Italy run by the Salesian order ...
St. Patrick's College, Thurles - History
... In 1849 the University of London, allowed Thurles to offer degrees in Arts and Laws, following an example from St ... The relationship with London University lasted over 20 years ... the college was linked to the Catholic University of Ireland, and subsequently the Royal University of Ireland in the 1900s, before being linked with the Pontifical University in Maynooth ...
St Patrick's College, Maynooth - Current Status
... Act, 1997, upon whom a degree of the National University of Ireland was conferred is now legally considered to be a graduate of the National University of Ireland, Maynooth ... The college continues to share its campus with National University of Ireland, Maynooth but remains a separate legal entity with training in canon law, philosophy and ... Pontifical University BAth undergraduate students can take their degree in Theology along with an Arts subject from the National University ...
Pontifical University - Former Pontifical Universities
... University of Aberdeen, Old Aberdeen, Scotland, till the Scottish Reformation University of Cambridge, Cambridge, England, till the English Reformation University of Cologne, Köln ... University of Rostock, Rostock, Germany, till the German Reformation University of Saint Andrews, Saint Andrews, Scotland, till the Scottish Reformation University of San ...
Pontifical University Of The Holy Cross
... Pontifical University of the Holy Cross (Latin Pontificia Universitas Sanctae Crucis, Italian Pontificia Università della Santa Croce) is a Roman Catholic university under the Curial Congregation for Catholic ... in the whole world." Pope John Paul II granted the title of 'university' to the Pontifical Atheneum of the Holy Cross in July 1998, making it the sixth pontifical university in the ... The University is open to lay people, both men and women, priests, seminarians, and religious brothers and sisters ...

Famous quotes containing the word university:

    Poetry presents indivisible wholes of human consciousness, modified and ordered by the stringent requirements of form. Prose, aiming at a definite and concrete goal, generally suppresses everything inessential to its purpose; poetry, existing only to exhibit itself as an aesthetic object, aims only at completeness and perfection of form.
    Richard Harter Fogle, U.S. critic, educator. The Imagery of Keats and Shelley, ch. 1, University of North Carolina Press (1949)