Owen Arthur

Owen Arthur

Owen Seymour Arthur, MP (born October 17, 1949) is a Barbadian politician who was Prime Minister of Barbados from 1994 to 2008. To date, he is the longest serving Barbadian Prime Minister. He has been Leader of the Opposition in Barbados since 2010.

He led the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) to victory in the September 1994 general election and won general elections again in January 1999 and 2003. In the 2008 general election, his party lost the elections to the Democratic Labour Party and their leader David Thompson. Arthur stepped down as party leader, but remained the Member of Parliament for the constituency of Saint Peter. He subsequently returned to lead the BLP in 2010.

Read more about Owen ArthurEarly Life and Education, Honours and Awards

Other articles related to "owen arthur, owen":

Owen Arthur - Honours and Awards
... Arthur is a recipient of the Order of José Marti of Cuba. ...
Mia Mottley - Biography - A Political Woman
... Under Prime Minister Owen Arthur's administration of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) in February 2006, a government reshuffle ensured Mottley became Minister of Economic Affairs and Development, a post ... the defeat in the election held on 15 January 2008 and Owen Arthur's laying down the mantle as party leader, Mia Mottley was chosen as BLP party leader on 19 January 2008 ... The five MPs placed their support behind former Prime Minister Owen Arthur, who assumed the leadership position that same day ...
Barbados Labour Party - History
... In 1994 Owen Arthur became the Prime Minister as leader of the Barbados Labour Party ... Party governed 1994-2008, which was commonly called the "Owen Arthur Administration" ... Former Prime Minister Owen S ...

Famous quotes containing the words arthur and/or owen:

    Any truth is better than indefinite doubt.
    —Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (1859–1930)

    A mead
    Bordered about with warbling water brooks.
    A maid
    Laughing the love-laugh with me; proud of looks.
    —Wilfred Owen (1893–1918)