Oshawa Generals

The Oshawa Generals are a junior ice hockey team in the Ontario Hockey League. They are based in Oshawa, Ontario. The team is named for General Motors, an early sponsor which has its Canadian headquarters in Oshawa. The Generals are one of the most successful franchises in Canadian Hockey League history. Its 166 graduates to the National Hockey League are second only to the Peterborough Petes. The Generals have also won the Memorial Cup four times, and a record twelve Ontario Hockey League Championships, the J. Ross Robertson Cup.

The Generals have two distinct eras in their history. The original Generals operated from 1937 to 1953. The team went on a hiatus from 1953 to 1962 due to a fire at the Hambly Arena. The team was resurrected in 1962. Famous alumni of the Generals include Hockey Hall of Famers Bobby Orr and Alex Delvecchio, as well as Eric Lindros, Rick Middleton and Tony Tanti. Current NHL players Marc Savard, Jason Arnott, Ben Eager, Nathan Horton, Cal Clutterbuck, Michael Del Zotto, Eric Lindros, and John Tavares are also Oshawa Generals alumni.

Read more about Oshawa GeneralsChampionships, Coaches, Players, Team Records, Season-by-season Results, Uniforms and Logos, Arenas

Other articles related to "oshawa generals, oshawa, general":

Brantford Alexanders - Arena
... Belleville Bulls Kingston Frontenacs Oshawa Generals Ottawa 67's Peterborough Petes Central Division Barrie Colts Brampton Battalion Mississauga Steelheads Niagara IceDogs Sudbury Wolves Midwest Division ... Montreal Junior Canadiens Niagara Falls Flyers North Bay Centennials Oshawa Generals† Owen Sound Greys Port Colborne Recreationists St ... Metro Junior A League teams (1961-1963) Brampton 7Ups Oshawa Generals‡ Toronto Knob Hill Farms Toronto Marlboros‡ Toronto Neil McNeil Maroons Toronto St ...
Oshawa Generals - Arenas - General Motors Centre 2006–Present
... On March 10, 2005, Oshawa City Council approved what was then known as the "Downtown Sports Entertainment Facility Project" after many years of waiting ... corner of Athol and Mary Streets in downtown Oshawa took place on June 22, 2005 ... On October 5, 2006, the Oshawa Generals announced a naming rights deal which will see the arena named the General Motors Centre ...
Matt Leyden Trophy - Winners
... Joe McDonnell, Kitchener Rangers 1987–88 Dick Todd, Peterborough Petes 1986–87 Paul Theriault, Oshawa Generals 1985–86 Jacques Martin, Guelph Platers 1984 ... Gary Green, Peterborough Petes 1977–78 Bill White, Oshawa Generals 1976–77 Bill Long, London Knights 1975–76 Jerry Toppazzini, Sudbury Wolves 1974–75 Bert Templeton, Hamilton Fincups 1973–74 ...
Metro Junior A League - 1962–63
... sixth team in the league would be the reborn Oshawa Generals team, featuring future Hockey Hall of Fame inductee, 14-year-old Bobby Orr, and playing in Bowmanville as there was no suitable arena in Oshawa ... Toronto Knob Hill Farms 154 ... Whitby Dunlops 225 ... Oshawa Generals 222 ... Brampton 7Ups 28. 157 ... Marlboros 36-21-22-43 (17) Terry Vail C Oshawa Generals 35-28-24-52 (20) Grant Moore W Toronto Marlboros 36-26-30-56 (19) Rod Seiling D Neil McNeil Maroons 38-29-48-77 (18) Bobby Orr D ...
Chris Hayes (ice Hockey) - Career Statistics
... League GP G A Pts PIM GP G A Pts PIM 1964-65 Oshawa Generals OHA 0 ... -- -- -- -- -- 1965-66 Oshawa Generals OHA 92 ... -- -- -- -- -- 1966-67 ...

Famous quotes containing the word generals:

    These semi-traitors [Union generals who were not hostile to slavery] must be watched.—Let us be careful who become army leaders in the reorganized army at the end of this Rebellion. The man who thinks that the perpetuity of slavery is essential to the existence of the Union, is unfit to be trusted. The deadliest enemy the Union has is slavery—in fact, its only enemy.
    Rutherford Birchard Hayes (1822–1893)