NWA World Heavyweight Championship

NWA World Heavyweight Championship

The National Wrestling Alliance (NWA) World Heavyweight Championship is a professional wrestling world heavyweight championship in the National Wrestling Alliance. Its lineage has been traced from the first World Heavyweight Championship, which traces its lineage to Georg Hackenschmidt's 1905 title and Frank Gotch's 1908 version. This effectively makes it the oldest surviving wrestling championship in the world. The title has been competed for in such well-known promotions as the World Wrestling Federation (WWF, now WWE), World Championship Wrestling (WCW), Extreme Championship Wrestling (ECW) and Total Nonstop Action Wrestling (TNA).

With many "territories" appearing across the United States, the NWA was formed in 1948 as an overall governing wrestling body. Like franchises, these territories had the option of NWA membership. The promotion owners had to recognize the NWA heavyweight, junior heavyweight, and light heavyweight champions as world champions while retaining their own ownership and top champion. The current NWA World Heavyweight Championship belt was designed and crafted by All Star Championship Belts.

Read more about NWA World Heavyweight Championship$25,000 Deposit, Reigns

Other articles related to "nwa world heavyweight championship, nwa, world heavyweight championship, championships, championship, heavyweight":

NWA World Heavyweight Championship - Reigns
... The NWA currently recognizes 87 individual World Heavyweight Championship reigns ... Ric Flair holds the record with ten championships ... Douglas vacated the championship immediately after winning it in favor of the newly-created ECW World Heavyweight Championship in 1994 Douglas was the reigning NWA-Eastern Championship Wrestling Heavyweight Champion ...

Famous quotes containing the word world:

    These are bad days for all of us who remember always that when real world forces come into conflict, the final result is never as dark as we mortals guess it in very difficult days.
    Franklin D. Roosevelt (1882–1945)