Northern (state)

Northern (Arabic: الشمالية‎ Aš Šamāliya) is one of the 17 wilayat or states of Sudan. It has an area of 348,765 km² and an estimated population of 833,743 (2006). Dongola is the capital of the state. The town of Wadi Halfa, a headquarters of the British in the late nineteenth century, is located in the north of the province. The other towns (localities) are Merowe, Karima, Al-Dabbah and Dongola. Northern Sudan was in ancient times Nubia. Jebel Uweinat is a mountain range in the area of the Egyptian-Libyan-Sudanese border

States of Sudan
States not covered by the Comprehensive Peace Agreement
  • Central Darfur
  • East Darfur
  • Al Jazirah
  • Kassala
  • Khartoum
  • North Darfur
  • North Kurdufan
  • Northern
  • Al Qadarif
  • Red Sea
  • River Nile
  • Sennar
  • South Darfur
  • West Darfur
  • White Nile
States to hold "popular consultations" (process suspended)
  • Blue Nile
  • South Kordofan
Special administration area to hold referendum (postponed indefinitely)
  • Abyei (part of both South Kordofan and Warrap (South Sudan))

Famous quotes containing the word northern:

    In civilization, as in a southern latitude, man degenerates at length, and yields to the incursion of more northern tribes.
    Henry David Thoreau (1817–1862)