Northern Premier League

The Northern Premier League, is one of the regional English football leagues which sits directly below the Football Conference featuring semi-professional and amateur clubs. Geographically, the league covers all of Northern England, and the northern areas of the Midlands. Originally just one division, a second division was added in 1987: Division One. This new division was split twenty years later (2007) into Division One North and Division One South.

Together with the Southern League and the Isthmian League it forms level 7–8 of the English football league system. It has various regional feeder leagues at level 9 and, due to restructuring, from 2005 onwards its champions/playoff winners have been promoted to the Conference North division rather than the Conference National as was previously the case. It is, however, also possible for these teams to be promoted to the Conference South.

Due to title sponsorship deals, the league has been billed under various names, including a sixteen year spell as the Unibond League, the longest such deal in world football. When this deal ended in 2010, a new deal was announced which will see the competition billed as the Evo-Stik League until at least the 2014-15 season.

Read more about Northern Premier League:  History, Current Structure, Previous Winners

Other articles related to "northern premier league, premier, league, northern, premier league":

Northern Premier League - Previous Winners
... Season Premier Division 1968–69 Macclesfield Town 1969–70 Macclesfield Town 1970–71 Wigan Athletic 1971–72 Stafford Rangers 1972–73 Boston United 1973–74 Boston United 1974–75 Wigan ... Season Premier Division Division One 1987–88 Chorley Fleetwood Town 1988–89 Barrow Colne Dynamoes 1989–90 Colne Dynamoes Leek Town 1990–91 Witton Albion Whitley Bay 1991 ... Season Premier Division Division One North Division One South 2007–08 Fleetwood Town Bradford Park Avenue Retford United (not promoted)1 2008–09 Eastwood Town Durham City Retford United 2009–10 ...
List Of FA Trophy Winners - History
... The first FA Trophy final was won by Macclesfield Town, who also won the championship of the Northern Premier League in the same season ... Northern Premier League clubs dominated the first decade of the competition, with Telford United the only Southern League team to break the northern clubs' hold on the competition ... In 1979, the leading Southern and Northern Premier League teams formed the new Alliance Premier League, and teams from this league dominated the Trophy during the ...
List Of Burton Albion F.C. Seasons
... Significant Events Joined Birmingham District League 1950-1951 Birmingham District League 16th 1951-1952 Birmingham District League 5th 1952-1953 Birmingham District League ...
List Of Football Clubs In Derbyshire
... Team Area Ground League/Division Alfreton Town F.C ... Belper, Amber Valley Christchurch Meadow Northern Premier League Division One South Blackwell Miners Welfare F.C ... Blackwell, Bolsover Welfare Ground East Midlands Counties League Bolsover Town F.C ...
List Of Bradford Park Avenue A.F.C. Seasons - Key
... against Pts = Points Pos = Final position Div 1 = Football League First Division Div 2 = Football League Second Division Div 3 = Football League Third Division Div 3N = Football League Third ...

Famous quotes containing the words league and/or northern:

    We’re the victims of a disease called social prejudice, my child. These dear ladies of the law and order league are scouring out the dregs of the town. C’mon be a glorified wreck like me.
    Dudley Nichols (1895–1960)

    The northern sky rose high and black
    Over the proud unfruitful sea,
    East and west the ships came back
    Happily or unhappily....
    Philip Larkin (1922–1986)