Night World

Night World is a series of ten (with the tenth as yet unpublished) young-adult fantasy novels by American author L. J. Smith. The series presents a story in which vampires, witches, werewolves, and shapeshifters live among humans without their knowledge. These supernatural races make up a secret society known as the Night World, which enforces two fundamental laws to prevent discovery: 1) Never allow humans to gain knowledge of the Night World's existence and, 2) Never fall in love with a human.

Each volume of the series follows a different protagonist (always a teenage girl) who must face various challenges involving love, the "soulmate principle" and the Night World's strict code. In the first six novels, the plot focuses on the protagonist discovering her soulmate and the danger which ensues. In the seventh book of the series, the concept of an impending millennial apocalypse is introduced. Although the theme of the "soulmate principle" continues to be present, the later books' plots focus on the search for four "Wild Powers" who, according to an ancient prophecy, will either save the world or aid in its destruction. Books from the series appeared on the New York Times Bestseller List for children's books in 2008 and 2009.

The concluding book in the series, Strange Fate, has been delayed for over a decade, and the release date is currently unconfirmed, with various websites stating different release dates. On January 22, 2012, in response to a fan's question regarding the publication of Strange Fate, the concluding book in the Night World series, L.J. Smith stated on her website "Strange Fate will come out when I'm finished writing it. It is a very, very long book. I promise that I am working on it right now."

Read more about Night WorldPublishing History, The Soulmate Principle, External Links

Other articles related to "night world, night":

Night World - External Links
... Night World Information Collective This site contains information about the books, characters, and concepts of the Night World series ... Night World Official Website Review of all Night World published books Fanlisting for the Night World series ...
The Chosen (Smith Novel) - Character Notes
... Quinn features as a minor character in the previous Night World novel, Daughters of Darkness, while Lily appears as a minor character in the subsequent Night World novel ... Timmy makes a minor appearance in the previous Night World novel, Secret Vampire ...
List Of Fictional Vampires - Literary - T
... de Bennicouer (Immortality Bites Series) Thierry Descoudres (Night World) Thibor Ferenczy (The Necroscope series) Thomas Raith (The Dresden Files) Thistle Galena (Night ...
L. J. Smith (author) - Bibliography - Night World Series - Omnibuses
... Night World Secret Vampire, Daughters of Darkness, Spellbinder (2008) ISBN 978-1-41-697450-5 Night World Dark Angel, The Chosen, Soulmate (2008) ISBN 978-1-41-697451-2 Night World Huntress, Black ...
List Of Fictional Vampires - Literary - M
... Force, aka Mimi Force (Blue Bloods) Maddy Redfern (Rasmussen) (Night World) Mael(The Vampire Chronicles) Maggie (Twilight series) Maggie Roy (Vampire Beach series) Magnus (The ...

Famous quotes containing the words world and/or night:

    Delusions that shrink to the size of a woman’s glove,
    Then sicken inclusively outwards:
    . . . the incessant recital
    Intoned by reality, larded with technical terms,
    Each one double-yolked with meaning and meaning’s rebuttal:
    For the skirl of that bulletin unpicks the world like a knot....
    Philip Larkin (1922–1986)

    Sitting in that dusky wilderness, under that dark mountain, by the bright river which was full of reflected light, still I heard the wood thrush sing, as if no higher civilization could be attained. By this time the night was upon us.
    Henry David Thoreau (1817–1862)