NFC North

The NFC North is a division of the National Football League's National Football Conference, based in the Upper Midwest region of the United States. It currently has four members: the Chicago Bears, Detroit Lions, Green Bay Packers, and Minnesota Vikings. The NFC North was also called the NFC Central from 1970-2001 (the Tampa Bay Buccaneers were members from 1977 until 2002 due to the expansion of the Houston Texans.)

The division was created in 1967 as the Central Division of the NFL's Western Conference and existed for three seasons before the AFL–NFL merger. After the merger, it was renamed the NFC Central and retained that name until the NFL split into eight divisions in 2002. The four teams have been together in the same division or conference since the Vikings joined the league in 1961. The Bears, Lions and Packers have been in the same division or conference since the NFL began a conference format in 1933.

Based on the ages of its teams, the NFC North is the oldest division in the NFL, at a combined 316 years old. The Bears are 93 years old (founded in 1919 in Decatur, Illinois; moved to Chicago in 1921), the Packers are also 93 years old (founded in 1919, but turned professional in 1921), the Lions are 83 years old (founded 1929 in Portsmouth, Ohio; moved to Detroit in 1934), and the Vikings are 51 years old (founded 1961). The division has a total of 11 Super Bowl appearances. The Packers have the most appearances in the Super bowl with 5, the most recent happening in 2011. The Bears and the Packers have the only Super Bowl wins of this division, a total of 5 (4 for the Packers and 1 for the Bears). Of the top 10 NFL teams with the highest winning percentage throughout its franchise history, three of them are in the NFC North (the Bears, the Packers and the Vikings). The Lions however, have one of the lowest winning percentages in the NFL, including the only winless 16-game season in NFL history.

Entering 2012 the Bears lead the division with an overall record of 712-520-42, victory in Super Bowl XX and eight pre-Super Bowl league titles; Chicago's overall playoff record is 17-18. The Packers hold an overall record of 679-525-36 with an overall playoff record of 29-17, four Super Bowl titles, and nine pre-Super Bowl league titles. The Lions hold a record of 506-599-32, four league championships, and a 7-11 playoff record. As the youngest (in terms of existence) team in the division, the Vikings hold a record of 416-349-9 and a playoff record of 19-26.

This division earned the moniker "Black and Blue Division" due to its intense rivalries and physical style of play, and this nickname is still used regularly today. It is also known as the "Frostbite Division" as all teams played home games in late season winter cold until the mid 1970s. The division is also humorously called the "Frozen North", although two of its teams, Detroit and Minnesota, have played their home games indoors since 1975 and 1982 respectively. ESPN sportscaster Chris Berman often refers to this division as the "NFC Norris" because of its geographical similarity to the National Hockey League's old Norris Division. The NFC North's geography has been compared to that of a college conference since all four of its home cities lie within the territorial boundaries of the NCAA's Big Ten Conference.

Read more about NFC North:  Division Lineups, Division Champions, Wild Card Qualifiers, See Also, Total Playoff Berths, Total Playoff Berths in Team History, Schedule Assignments

Other articles related to "nfc north, nfc, north":

NFC North - Schedule Assignments
2011 AFC West NFC South 2012 AFC South NFC West 2013 AFC North NFC East 2014 AFC East NFC South 2015 AFC West NFC West 2016 AFC South NFC East 2017 AFC North NFC South 2018 AFC East NFC West 2019 AFC West NFC ...
History Of The Green Bay Packers - 1998-2005: Near Misses
... had placed them along with Minnesota, Chicago, and Detroit in the new NFC North ... the final game of the season was lost at home to the Jets, which gave Green Bay the #3 NFC seed and forced them to go through the wild card round ... to win and for the Vikings to lose to win the NFC North and to get the last playoff spot ...
List Of NFL Franchise Post-season Droughts - Longest Active Division Title Drought
17 AFC East New York Jets 10 ... AFC East Miami Dolphins 4 ... AFC North Cleveland Browns^ 1989 020* AFC Central AFC South Jacksonville Jaguars^ 13 ... AFC Central AFC ... Louis Rams 9 ... NFC West Arizona Cardinals 2012 ... Division Champions AFC East New England Patriots 2012 — AFC West Denver Broncos 2012 — NFC South Atlanta ...
List Of Current National Football League Staffs - NFC North - Minnesota Vikings
Martin Mayhew - NFL GM Record
... Regular Season Post Season Won Lost Ties Win % Finish Won Lost Result DET 0..000 4th in NFC North - - Failed to Qualify DET 0..125 4th in NFC North - - Failed to ...

Famous quotes containing the word north:

    The Anglo-Saxon hive have extirpated Paganism from the greater part of the North American continent; but with it they have likewise extirpated the greater portion of the Red race. Civilization is gradually sweeping from the earth the lingering vestiges of Paganism, and at the same time the shrinking forms of its unhappy worshippers.
    Herman Melville (1819–1891)