National Book Award

National Book Award

The National Book Awards are a set of annual U.S. literary awards. At the final "National Book Awards Ceremony" every November, the National Book Foundation presents the NBAs and two lifetime achievement awards to people.

The National Book Awards were established in 1936 by the American Booksellers Association, abandoned during World War II, and re-established by three book industry organizations in 1950. Non-U.S. authors and publishers were eligible for the pre-war awards. Now they are presented to U.S. authors for books published in the United States roughly during the award year.

The nonprofit National Book Foundation was established in 1988 to administer and enhance the Book Awards and "move beyond into the fields of education and literacy", primarily by sponsoring public appearances by writers. Its mission is "to celebrate the best of American literature, to expand its audience, and to enhance the cultural value of good writing in America."

In 2010, there were 1,115 books nominated for the four award categories, led by the Nonfiction category with 435 nominations. The 2011 ceremony was held on November 16 in New York City.

Read more about National Book AwardWinners and Finalists, Current Process, Annual Eligibility, Medal For Distinguished Contribution (lifetime), Literarian Award For Outstanding Service (lifetime), Criticism

Other articles related to "national book award, books, national, award":

Saul Bellow Bibliography - Fiction - Novels and Novellas
1947 The Adventures of Augie March 1953 Won the 1954 National Book Award for Fiction Seize the Day 1956 Henderson the Rain King 1959 Herzog 1964 Won the 1965 National Book Award for ... Sammler's Planet 1970 Won the 1971 National Book Award for Fiction Humboldt's Gift 1975 Won the 1976 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction The Dean's December 1982 More Die ...
Copper Canyon Press - Noted Publications
... Merwin - 2005 National Book Award in poetry for Migration New Selected Poems Ruth Stone - 2002 National Book Award in poetry for In the Next Galaxy Hayden Carruth - 1996 National Book Award in ...
List Of Michigan Writers - Fiction
... Nelson Algren, winning novelist best known for such books as A Walk on the Wild Side and The Man with the Golden Arm—which won the 1950 National ... King (born in Owosso) Pete Dexter, novelist and 1988 National Book Award-winner—for Paris Trout (born in Pontiac) Edna Ferber, novelist of such works as ... Kienzle, former Catholic priest whose mystery/crime story writer best known for such books as The Rosary Murders (born in Detroit) Harold R ...
List Of Princeton University People - Literature and Journalism - Pulitzer Prize Winners
... of Charles Lindbergh, winner of the National Book Award for biography of Max Perkins Robert Caro A.B. 1948 – Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award-winning poet Arthur Krock A.B ... Pulitzer Prize-winner, once for fiction and twice for drama National Book Award winner Our Town premiered at Princeton George F ...
National Book Award - Criticism
... in Salon (Oct 12, 2011), said the fiction award has became a Newbery Medal for adults Good for you whether you like it or not ... are automatically sidelined in favor of books that the judges feel deserve an extra boost of attention. ... the nominated books exhibit qualities — a poetic prose style, elliptical or fragmented storytelling — that either don’t matter much to nonprofessional readers, or even put them off ...

Famous quotes containing the words award, national and/or book:

    The award of a pure gold medal for poetry would flatter the recipient unduly: no poem ever attains such carat purity.
    Robert Graves (1895–1985)

    I would save the Union. I would save it the shortest way under the Constitution. The sooner the national authority can be restored; the nearer the Union will be “the Union as it was.”
    Abraham Lincoln (1809–1865)

    A guide book is addressed to those who plan to follow the traveler, doing what he has done, but more selectively. A travel book, in its purest, is addressed to those who do not plan to follow the traveler at all, but who require the exotic or comic anomalies, wonders and scandals of the literary form romance which their own place or time cannot entirely supply.
    Paul Fussell (b. 1924)