Minnesota Vikings

The Minnesota Vikings are a professional American football team based in Minneapolis, Minnesota. The Vikings joined the National Football League (NFL) as an expansion team in 1960, and first took the field for the 1961 season. They currently participate in the North Division of the National Football Conference (NFC); prior to that the Vikings were in the NFC Central Division, and before that they were in the NFL's Western Conference Central Division.

The Vikings play their home games at the Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome in Minneapolis as they have since 1982 (a bill was passed in May 2012 to build a new stadium for the team, which is expected to open by the 2016 season). From the team's first season in 1961 to 1982, the team had called Metropolitan Stadium in suburban Bloomington home. The Vikings conducted summer training camp at Bemidji State University from 1961–65. In 1966, they moved their training camp to Minnesota State University in Mankato, where it remains to this day.

Since the team's first season in 1961, the Vikings have had one of the highest winning percentages in the NFL. They are also one of only six NFL teams to win at least 15 games during the regular season. The Vikings have won one NFL championship, in 1969, prior to the league's merger with the American Football League (AFL). Since the merger, they have made the playoffs 24 times, third most in the league. Despite producing some of the best teams in NFL history over the years, the Vikings have not won a Super Bowl. The team has played in four Super Bowls (IV, VIII, IX, and XI), though losing in each one. The team currently has eleven members in the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Read more about Minnesota VikingsHistory, Logo and Uniforms, Radio and Television

Other articles related to "minnesota vikings, viking, vikings":

Mickey Shuler, Jr. - Professional Career - Minnesota Vikings
... Shuler was drafted in the 7th round of the 2010 NFL Draft by the Minnesota Vikings ... After scoring a TD in the first pre-season game, Shuler made the final cut and was part of the 53-man roster for the first two weeks of the season ...
List Of NFC Champions - NFC Championship Teams
... Brown Taylor, CharleyCharley Taylor* Brown, Hanburger* Dallas Cowboys 1973 Minnesota Vikings 12 !12–2 Grant, BudBud Grant* Tarkenton, FranFran Tarkenton* Foreman, ChuckChuck ... JimJim Fassel Collins, KerryKerry Collins Barber, TikiTiki Barber Toomer, AmaniAmani Toomer none Minnesota Vikings 2001 St ... Payton Brees, DrewDrew Brees Thomas, PierrePierre Thomas Colston, MarquesMarques Colston Evans Minnesota Vikings 2010 Green Bay Packers† 10 !10–6 McCarthy, MikeMike McCarthy Rodgers, AaronAaron ...
Seth Olsen - Professional Career - Minnesota Vikings
... After being released by the Broncos, he was subsequently claimed on waivers by the Minnesota Vikings and signed to their practice squad ...
Scott Studwell - Minnesota Vikings
... Studwell is the only Viking to have played with both Jim Marshall (1961–1979) John Randle (1990–2000) ... He retired as the Vikings all-time leading tackler with 1,981 in his career and holds team records for single-season tackles with 230 in 1981 and 24 ... He was a memember of the of the Vikings 25th and 40th Anniversary season teams and was named one of the 50 greatest Vikings in 2010.) ...