Luxembourg (i/ˈlʌksəmbɜrɡ/ LUKS-əm-burg), officially the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg (Luxembourgish: Groussherzogtum Lëtzebuerg, French: Grand-Duché de Luxembourg, German: Großherzogtum Luxemburg), is a landlocked country in western Europe, bordered by Belgium, France, and Germany. It has two principal regions: the Oesling in the north as part of the Ardennes massif, and the Gutland ("good country") in the south. Luxembourg has a population of 512,353 (as of February 2011) in an area of 2,586 square kilometres (998 sq mi).

As a representative democracy with a constitutional monarch, it is headed by a grand duke and is the world's only remaining grand duchy. Luxembourg is one of the world's most developed countries, with an advanced economy and the world's second highest GDP (PPP) per capita, according to the IMF. Its historic and strategic importance dates back to its founding as a Roman era fortress and Frankish count's castle site in the Early Middle Ages. It was an important bastion along the Spanish Road when Spain was the principal European power influencing the whole western hemisphere and beyond in the 16th–17th centuries.

Luxembourg is a member of the European Union, NATO, OECD, the United Nations, and Benelux, reflecting the political consensus in favour of economic, political, and military integration. The city of Luxembourg, the largest and capital city, is the seat of several institutions and agencies of the EU.

Reflecting its geographic position, Luxembourg's culture is a fusion of Romance and Germanic Europe, borrowing customs from each of the distinct traditions. Luxembourg is a trilingual country: Luxembourgish, French and German are official languages. Although a secular state, Luxembourg is predominantly Roman Catholic.

Read more about Luxembourg:  History, Politics, Geography, Economy, Culture

Other articles related to "luxembourg":

Outline Of Luxembourg - Government and Politics of Luxembourg - Branches of The Government of Luxembourg - Executive Branch of The Government of Luxembourg
... Head of state Grand Duke of Luxembourg, Head of government Prime Minister of Luxembourg, Cabinet of Luxembourg ...
Outline Of Luxembourg - Government and Politics of Luxembourg - Military of Luxembourg
... Minister for Defence Jean-Marie Halsdorf Ministry of Defence of Luxembourg Chief of Defence Gaston Reinig Forces Army of Luxembourg Navy of Luxembourg None Air Force of Luxembourg Special forces of ...
Outline Of Luxembourg - Culture of Luxembourg
... Architecture of Luxembourg Cuisine of Luxembourg Festivals in Luxembourg Languages of Luxembourg Luxembourg American Cultural Society Media in Luxembourg ...
Luxembourg - Culture - Media
... Luxembourg is known in Europe for its radio and television stations (Radio Luxembourg, RTL Group) ... tax regime for audiovisual investment, the film and co-production in Luxembourg has grown steadily ... There are some 30 registered production companies in Luxembourg ...