Lombardi Award

Lombardi Award

The Rotary Lombardi Award is awarded annually to the best college football lineman or linebacker. The Lombardi Award program was approved by the Rotary Club in Houston in 1970 shortly after the death of Vince Lombardi whom the Super Bowl trophy is also named for. The committee outlined the criteria for eligibility for the award, which remains in place to this day. A player should be a down lineman on either side of the ball or a linebacker who lines up no farther than five yards deep from the ball. The main part of the trophy is a block of Granite giving homage to Lombardi's college days at Fordham University as an offensive lineman, when his offensive line was referred to as the, "7 Blocks of Granite." A nominee must show leadership, courage, desire, respect for authority and discipline.

The voting electorate is made up of the head coaches from all Division I schools, sports media personnel from across the country and former winners and finalists of the Rotary Lombardi Award. Currently the total number of voters is approximately 500. Ohio State University currently holds the record for most Lombardi awards with 6.

In 2011 the Detroit Lions became the first ever NFL team to select a Lombardi Award winner in two consecutive NFL Drafts. Ndamukong Suh, 2nd overall in 2010, and Nick Fairley, 13th overall in 2011.

Read more about Lombardi Award:  Winners, Winners By School

Other articles related to "award, lombardi award, lombardi, awards":

List Of Ohio State University People - National and International Award Winners - Athletics - Football
... Terry Glenn, NFL wide receiver for the Dallas Cowboys 1995 Biletnikoff Award Winner Randy Gradishar, NFL linebacker, College Football Hall of Fame member ... Hawk, NFL linebacker for the Green Bay Packers 2005 Lombardi Award Recipient Woody Hayes, Ohio State football coach and educator, M.A ... John Hicks, 1973 winner of Outland Trophy and Lombardi Award Santonio Holmes, NFL Wide Receiver for the New York Jets, Super Bowl XLIII MVP Les Horvath, Heisman Trophy winner 1943 ...
Dean Steinkuhler - College Career
... consecutive time a Cornhusker had won the award as Dave Rimington had won back to back Outland Trophies in 1981 and 1982 ... Steinkuhler also won the Lombardi Award in 1983, marking the second consecutive year a Nebraska player had won that award as Rimington had also won the Lombardi in 1982 ... Nebraska is the only team that has had consecutive winners of both of these awards ...
Terrence Cody - College Career - Alabama - 2009 Season
... Cody was named to the 2009 Lombardi Award, Lott Trophy, and Outland Trophy pre-season watch lists ... were announced as two of the twelve finalists for the 2009 Lombardi Award ... On November 10, Cody was named one of four finalists for the Lombardi Award, alongside Jerry Hughes, Gerald McCoy and Ndamukong Suh ...
2006 USC Trojans Football Team - Before The Season - Pre-season Honors
... Eleven Trojan players were named to pre-season national award watchlists ... Sam Baker–Lombardi Award and Outland Trophy John David Booty–Maxwell Award Brian Cushing–Chuck Bednarik Award Fred Davis–John Mackey Award Lawrence Jackson–Lombar ...

Famous quotes containing the word award:

    The award of a pure gold medal for poetry would flatter the recipient unduly: no poem ever attains such carat purity.
    Robert Graves (1895–1985)