List of Winners of The James Laughlin Award

List Of Winners Of The James Laughlin Award

The James Laughlin Award, formerly the Lamont Poetry Prize, is given annually for a poet's second published book; it is the only major poetry award that honors a second book. The award is given by the Academy of American Poets, and is noted as one of the major prizes awarded to younger poets in the United States. In 1959, Harvey Shapiro referred to the award as "roughly, a Pulitzer for bardlings."

Read more about List Of Winners Of The James Laughlin AwardLaughlin Award Winners (1996–present), Lamont Poetry Selections (1976–1995), Lamont Poetry Selections (1954–1975)

Other articles related to "list of winners of the james laughlin award, james, award":

List Of Winners Of The James Laughlin Award - Lamont Poetry Selections (1954–1975)
... William Harmon 1969 Marvin Bell 1968 Jane Cooper 1967 James Scully 1966 Kenneth O ... Hanson 1965 Henri Coulette 1964 Adrien Stoutenburg 1963 No award 1962 Edward Field 1961 X ...

Famous quotes containing the words list of, award, list, winners and/or james:

    I made a list of things I have
    to remember and a list
    of things I want to forget,
    but I see they are the same list.
    Linda Pastan (b. 1932)

    The award of a pure gold medal for poetry would flatter the recipient unduly: no poem ever attains such carat purity.
    Robert Graves (1895–1985)

    Lastly, his tomb
    Shall list and founder in the troughs of grass
    And none shall speak his name.
    Karl Shapiro (b. 1913)

    The two real political parties in America are the Winners and the Losers. The people don’t acknowledge this. They claim membership in two imaginary parties, the Republicans and the Democrats, instead.
    Kurt Vonnegut, Jr. (b. 1922)

    Philosophy is at once the most sublime and the most trivial of human pursuits. It works in the minutest crannies and it opens out the widest vistas. It ‘bakes no bread’, as has been said, but it can inspire our souls with courage.
    —William James (1842–1910)