List of Grey's Anatomy Episodes

List Of Grey's Anatomy Episodes

Grey's Anatomy is an American television medical drama that premiered on the American Broadcasting Company (ABC), as a mid-season replacement for Boston Legal on March 27, 2005. The series has aired for nine seasons, and focuses on the fictional lives of surgical interns and residents, as they gradually evolve into seasoned doctors, while trying to maintain personal lives. The show's premise originated with Shonda Rhimes, who serves as an executive producer, along with Betsy Beers, Mark Gordon, Krista Vernoff, Rob Corn, Mark Wilding, and Allan Heinberg. The series was created to be racially diverse, utilizing a color-blind casting technique. It is primarily filmed in Los Angeles, California.

Episodes have been broadcast on Thursdays at 9:00 pm Eastern Standard Time (EST), since the show's third season. The first two seasons aired after Desperate Housewives in the Sunday 10:00 pm EST time-slot. All episodes are approximately forty-three minutes, without commercials, and are broadcast in both high-definition and standard. The series' episodes are also available for download at the iTunes Store in standard and high-definition qualities, and Amazon Instant Video, with new episodes appearing the day after their live airing. ABC Video on demand also releases episodes of the show, typically one to two days after their premiere. Recent episodes are available at ABC's official Grey's Anatomy website, and on Hulu. In 2009, ABC signed a deal allowing Grey's Anatomy episodes to be streamed on Netflix.

Grey's Anatomy was among the top-ten rated shows in the United States from its first through fourth seasons. The show's episodes have won a number of awards, including a Golden Globe Award for Best Drama Series, a People's Choice Award for Favorite TV Drama, and multiple NAACP Image Awards for Outstanding Drama Series. Since its premiere, Buena Vista Home Entertainment has distributed all seasons onto DVD. The series has aired several specials recapping events from previous episodes, as well as released two series of webisodes. On May 11, 2012, the series was renewed for a ninth season, which premiered on September 27. As of November 29, 2012, a total of 180 original episodes have aired.

Read more about List Of Grey's Anatomy Episodes:  Series Overview, Specials (2006–07)

Famous quotes containing the words list of, episodes, anatomy, grey and/or list:

    Feminism is an entire world view or gestalt, not just a laundry list of women’s issues.
    Charlotte Bunch (b. 1944)

    What is a novel if not a conviction of our fellow-men’s existence strong enough to take upon itself a form of imagined life clearer than reality and whose accumulated verisimilitude of selected episodes puts to shame the pride of documentary history?
    Joseph Conrad (1857–1924)

    Man is a shrewd inventor, and is ever taking the hint of a new machine from his own structure, adapting some secret of his own anatomy in iron, wood, and leather, to some required function in the work of the world.
    Ralph Waldo Emerson (1803–1882)

    Shielded, what sorts of life are stirring yet:
    Legs lagged like drains, slippers soft as fungus,
    The gas and grate, the old cold sour grey bed.
    Philip Larkin (1922–1986)

    Love’s boat has been shattered against the life of everyday. You and I are quits, and it’s useless to draw up a list of mutual hurts, sorrows, and pains.
    Vladimir Mayakovsky (1893–1930)