Legislative Districts of Zamboanga Del Sur

The Legislative districts of Zamboanga del Sur, namely the first and second districts are the representations of the Province of Zamboanga del Sur in the Philippine House of Representatives. Zamboanga del Sur was part of the representation of the Department of Mindanao and Sulu from 1916 to 1935 and Zamboanga Province from 1935 until 1953, when it gained its own representation. It then became part of the representation of Region IX from 1978 to 1984, and from 1984 to 1986, it elected 3 assemblymen at-large, while Zamboanga City which used to be part of it, was granted its own representation. In 1986, it was divided into three congressional districts until 2001, when it was reduced to two congressional districts with the separation and creation of its third congressional district as the province of Zamboanga Sibugay.

Read more about Legislative Districts Of Zamboanga Del Sur1st District, 2nd District, 3rd District (defunct), Lone District (defunct)

Famous quotes containing the words legislative and/or districts:

    I find it profoundly symbolic that I am appearing before a committee of fifteen men who will report to a legislative body of one hundred men because of a decision handed down by a court comprised of nine men—on an issue that affects millions of women.... I have the feeling that if men could get pregnant, we wouldn’t be struggling for this legislation. If men could get pregnant, maternity benefits would be as sacrosanct as the G.I. Bill.
    Letty Cottin Pogrebin (20th century)

    Cities need old buildings so badly it is probably impossible for vigorous streets and districts to grow without them.... for really new ideas of any kind—no matter how ultimately profitable or otherwise successful some of them might prove to be—there is no leeway for such chancy trial, error and experimentation in the high-overhead economy of new construction. Old ideas can sometimes use new buildings. New ideas must use old buildings.
    Jane Jacobs (b. 1916)