Jammu and Kashmir

Jammu and Kashmir i/dʒɑːmuː/ & /kæʃmɪər/ is the northernmost state of India. It is situated mostly in the Himalayan mountains. Jammu and Kashmir shares a border with the states of Himachal Pradesh and Punjab to the south and internationally with the People's Republic of China to the north and east and the Pakistan-administered territories of Azad Kashmir and Gilgit–Baltistan, to the west and northwest respectively.

Formerly a part of the erstwhile Princely State of Kashmir and Jammu, which governed the larger historic region of Kashmir, this territory is disputed among China, India and Pakistan. Pakistan, which claims the territory as disputed, refers to it alternatively as Indian-occupied Kashmir or Indian-held Kashmir, while some international agencies such as the United Nations call it Indian-administered Kashmir. The regions under the control of Pakistan is referred to as Pakistan-occupied Kashmir or PoK within India and Pakistan-administered Kashmir generally.

Jammu and Kashmir consists of three regions: Jammu, the Kashmir valley and Ladakh. Srinagar is the summer capital, and Jammu is the winter capital. While the Kashmir valley is famous for its beautiful mountainous landscape, Jammu's numerous shrines attract tens of thousands of Hindu pilgrims every year. Ladakh, also known as "Little Tibet", is renowned for its remote mountain beauty and Buddhist culture.

Read more about Jammu And Kashmir:  History, Geography and Climate, Administrative Divisions, Population of Major Cities, Demographics, Statehood, Politics and Government, Economy, Tourism, Culture, Education

Other articles related to "jammu and kashmir":

Jammu And Kashmir - Education
... In 1970, the state government of Jammu and Kashmir established its own education board and university ... Jammu and Kashmir follows the 10+2 pattern for education of children ... This is handled by Jammu and Kashmir State Board of School Education (abbreviated as JKBOSE) ...