Iris Murdoch

Iris Murdoch

Dame Iris Murdoch DBE (15 July 1919 – 8 February 1999) was an Irish-born British author and philosopher, best known for her novels about good and evil, sexual relationships, morality, and the power of the unconscious. Her first published novel, Under the Net, was selected in 1998 as one of Modern Library's 100 best English-language novels of the 20th century. In 1987, she was made a Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire. In 2008, The Times ranked Murdoch twelfth on a list of "The 50 greatest British writers since 1945".

Read more about Iris MurdochLife, Writings, Politics, Biographies and Memoirs, Works By Iris Murdoch, Secondary Literature

Other articles related to "iris murdoch, murdoch, iris":

Booker Prize Winners - Shortlists
... Mosley Impossible Object Hodder Stoughton Iris Murdoch The Nice and the Good Chatto and Windus Muriel Spark The Public Image Macmillan G ... Barker John Brown's Body Hogarth Press Elizabeth Bowen Eva Trout Jonathan Cape Iris Murdoch Bruno's Dream Chatto Windus William Trevor Mrs Eckdorf in O'Neill's ... Elizabeth Mavor The Green Equinox Michael Joseph Iris Murdoch The Black Prince Chatto Windus 1974 Nadine Gordimer The Conservationist Jonathan Cape Ion Trewin A ...
A Fairly Honourable Defeat - Major Themes
... Iris Murdoch puts realistic characters in contrived situations, and shows how their moral views and understandings affect their lives ... On the surface, Iris Murdoch is manipulating the pretensions of middle-class life and revealing how easy it is to make a good man fool himself into ... Murdoch has ambitions beyond realism for this novel, and in a mix of parable, allegory, and farce, she is, on the secondary level, exploring the continuing battle between evil and ...
Bruno's Dream
... Bruno's Dream is a 1969 novel by Iris Murdoch ... nurse Adelaide, Nigel (the messianic figure consistently found in Murdoch's novels) and Nigel's twin brother, Will ... Works by Iris Murdoch Novels Under the Net (1954) The Flight from the Enchanter (1956) The Sandcastle (1957) The Bell (1958) A Severed Head (1961) An Unofficial Rose (1962) The Unicorn (1963 ...
Iris Murdoch - Secondary Literature
... Picturing the human the moral thought of Iris Murdoch OUP ... ISBN 0-19-516660-4 Bayley, John (1999) Elegy for Iris ... ISBN 0-312-25382-6 Bayley, John (1998 ) Iris A Memoir of Iris Murdoch ...
A Word Child
... A Word Child is the 17th novel by Iris Murdoch ... Filled in the usual Murdoch style with an array of colourful, fully rounded characters who people Hilary's world, the novel is a complex and thoughtful ... Works by Iris Murdoch Novels Under the Net (1954) The Flight from the Enchanter (1956) The Sandcastle (1957) The Bell (1958) A Severed Head (1961) An Unofficial Rose (1962) The Unicorn (1963) The Italian ...

Famous quotes by iris murdoch:

    Possibly, more people kill themselves and others out of hurt vanity than out of envy, jealousy, malice or desire for revenge.
    Iris Murdoch (b. 1919)

    I daresay anything can be made holy by being sincerely worshipped.
    Iris Murdoch (b. 1919)

    Falling out of love is chiefly a matter of forgetting how charming someone is.
    Iris Murdoch (b. 1919)

    Every man needs two women, a quiet home-maker, and a thrilling nymph.
    Iris Murdoch (b. 1919)

    Being good is just a matter of temperament in the end.
    Iris Murdoch (b. 1919)