Ian McKellen

Ian McKellen

Sir Ian Murray McKellen, CH, CBE (born 25 May 1939) is an English actor. He has won multiple Laurence Olivier Awards, a Tony Award, a Golden Globe Award, two Academy Award nominations, and five Emmy Award nominations. His work has spanned genres from Shakespearean and modern theatre to popular fantasy and science fiction. He is known for film roles such as Gandalf in the Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit trilogies, Magneto in the X-Men films, and as Sir Leigh Teabing in The Da Vinci Code.

McKellen was made a Commander of the Order of the British Empire in 1979, was knighted in 1991 for services to the performing arts, and was made a Companion of Honour for services to drama and to equality, in the 2008 New Year Honours.

Read more about Ian McKellenEarly Life, Personal Life

Other articles related to "ian mckellen, ian":

Saturn Award For Best Supporting Actor
1996 Brent Spiner Star Trek First Contact 1997 Vincent D'Onofrio Men in Black 1998 Ian McKellen Apt Pupil 1999 Michael Clarke Duncan The Green Mile 2000 Willem Dafoe Shadow of the Vampire 2001. 1995) Brent Spiner (1996) Vincent D'Onofrio (1997) Ian McKellen (1998) Michael Clarke Duncan (1999) Willem Dafoe (2000) Ian McKellen (2001) Andy Serkis (2002) Sean Astin (2003) David Carradine (2004) Mickey Rourke (20 ...
List Of X-Men Films Cast Members - Brotherhood of Mutants
... Erik Lehnsherr / Magneto Ian McKellen Brett Morris (young) Ian McKellen Michael Fassbender Bill Milner (young) Michael Fassbender Ian McKellen (old) Raven Darkholme / Mystique Rebecca Romijn Jennifer Lawrence ...
Bent (play)
... The play starred Ian McKellen in its original 1979 West-End production, and Richard Gere in its original 1980 Broadway production ... directed a revival of the play, performed as a one-night benefit for Stonewall, featuring Ian McKellen, Richard E Grant, Ian Charleson, and Ralph Fiennes ... Mathias directed a full run in 1990, with Ian McKellen, Paul Rhys, and Christopher Eccleston, which won the City Limits Award for Revival of the Year ...
Laurence Olivier Award For Best Actor - Award Winners and Nominations - 1990s
1989/90 Oliver Ford Davies – Racing Demon Nigel Hawthorne – Shadowlands Ian McKellen – Othello / Bent Michael Pennington – The Wars of the Roses Note There was only one ceremony for 1989/90. 1991 Ian McKellen – Richard III Richard Harris – Henry IV John Malkovich – Burn This Warren Mitchell – The Homecoming 1992 Nigel Hawthorne – The Madness of George III Marcus D'Amic ...