Hockey Champions Trophy

The Hockey Champions Trophy is an event held annually by the International Hockey Federation (since 1978). Founded by Pakistan's Air Marshal Nur Khan, it features the world's top-ranked field hockey teams competing in a round robin format. The Pakistan Hockey Federation started the competition as a men's tournament in 1978. The tournament has been an annual affair since 1980 for men and since 1987 for women.

In the men's tournament, the Australians have won the trophy twelve, the Germans nine, and the Dutch eight times. Pakistan is the only Asian champion, with three titles to its name including the first two in 1978 and 1980. In the women's tournament both the Netherlands and Australia have won the trophy six times, while Argentina won five titles.

Six teams qualify for the championship, though the first edition had five teams, the second had seven and 1987 had eight. In the year following the Olympics or a World Cup, the six teams include the host, the defending champion, the world champion and the next highest ranked teams from either the most recent World Cup or Olympic Games.

The last placed team in the tournament is dropped and replaced by the winner of the Champions Challenge, which was introduced in 2001 and can be considered as the Champions Trophy for so called B-nations.

Other articles related to "hockey, champions, hockey champions trophy, champions trophy":

Germany National Field Hockey Team
... The Germany national field hockey team represents Germany in international field hockey ... The team have won the 2006 Men's Hockey World Cup in Mönchengladbach, Germany ... The team caused an upset in the 2002 Men's Hockey World Cup when they defeated Australia 2-1 with striker Olivier Domke scoring the winner after Germany came back from being 1-0 ...
Lists Of Tennis Players
... List of female tennis players By Grand Slam championship List of Australian Open champions List of French Open champions List of Wimbledon champions List of U.S ... Open champions ...
Pakistan Hockey Federation - Major Hockey Tournaments Won By Pakistan - Hockey Champions Trophy
... 1978 Men's Champions Trophy 1980 Men's Champions Trophy 1994 Men's Champions Trophy ...
Hockey Champions Trophy - Women - Team Appearances
... results representing England The Netherlands is the only team to have competed at almost every Champions Trophy, except for only one edition 13 teams have ... International field hockey FIH Men's World Cup Women's World Cup Men's Junior World Cup Women's Junior World Cup Champions Trophy Champions Challenge I Champions Challenge II ...

Famous quotes containing the word champions:

    Did all the lets and bars appear
    To every just or larger end,
    Whence should come the trust and cheer?
    Youth must its ignorant impulse lend—
    Age finds place in the rear.
    All wars are boyish, and are fought by boys,
    The champions and enthusiasts of the state:
    Herman Melville (1819–1891)