Four Species

The four species (Hebrew: ארבעת המינים‎ arba'at ha-minim, also called arba minim) are four plants mentioned in the Torah (Leviticus 23:40) as being relevant to Sukkot. Karaite Jews build their Sukkot out of branches from the four specified plants (see Other interpretations), while Rabbinic Jews take three types of branches and one type of fruit which are held together and waved in a special ceremony during the Jewish holiday of Sukkot. The waving of the four plants is a mitzvah prescribed by the Torah, and contains symbolic allusions to a Jew's service of God.

Read more about Four Species:  List of The Four Plants, Practice, History, Reciting The Blessing, Selecting The Four Species, Symbolism, Other Interpretations, Bibliography

Other articles related to "four species, species":

Karaite Judaism - Beliefs - Four Species
... Karaite Judaism maintains that what the Rabbanites call the four species are actual three, i.e ... to construct their sukkot out of the species and olive branches, and oil tree branches, as well as date palm fronds, and branches other thickly leaved trees are mentioned in the same passage as ...

Famous quotes containing the word species:

    Under the species of Syndicalism and Fascism there appears for the first time in Europe a type of man who does not want to give reasons or to be right, but simply shows himself resolved to impose his opinions.
    José Ortega Y Gasset (1883–1955)