FIFA World Cup

The FIFA World Cup, often simply the World Cup, is an international association football competition contested by the senior men's national teams of the members of Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA), the sport's global governing body. The championship has been awarded every four years since the inaugural tournament in 1930, except in 1942 and 1946 when it was not held because of the Second World War. The current champions are Spain, who won the 2010 tournament.

The current format of the tournament involves 32 teams competing for the title at venues within the host nation(s) over a period of about a month; this phase is often called the World Cup Finals. A qualification phase, which currently takes place over the preceding three years, is used to determine which teams qualify for the tournament together with the host nation(s).

The 19 World Cup tournaments have been won by eight different national teams. Brazil have won five times, and they are the only team to have played in every tournament. The other World Cup winners are Italy, with four titles; Germany, with three titles; Argentina and inaugural winners Uruguay, with two titles each; and England, France, and Spain, with one title each.

The World Cup is the world's most widely viewed sporting event; an estimated 715.1 million people watched the final match of the 2006 FIFA World Cup held in Germany.

The next three World Cups will be hosted by Brazil in 2014, Russia in 2018, and Qatar in 2022.

Read more about FIFA World CupTrophy, Organisation and Media Coverage, Results

Other articles related to "fifa, world cup, fifa world cup, cup":

Khalil Al Ghamdi - Biography
... the games at the 2008 Olympics, 2006 FIFA Club World Cup and qualifiers for the 2006 FIFA World Cup and 2010 FIFA World Cup ... preselected as a potential referee for the 2010 FIFA World Cup, with his selection confirmed on February 5, 2010 ... He was the referee for the final match of the 2010 AFC Cup Final, Al-Qadsia vs ...
Daniele Bonera - Career Statistics - International Statistic
4 September 2004 Palermo, Italy Norway 2–1 2006 ... FIFA World Cup qualification 5. 26 March 2005 Milan, Italy Scotland 2–0 2006 ... FIFA World Cup qualification 9. 12 October 2005 Lecce, Italy Moldova 2–1 2006 ... FIFA World Cup qualification 11 ...
FIFA World Cup - Results
... See also List of FIFA World Cup finals Year Host Winners Score Runners-up Third place Score Fourth place Number of teams 1930 Details Uruguay Uruguay 4–2 ...
Andreas Köpke
... goalkeeper who was in the German squad that won the 1990 FIFA World Cup, and was also part of the 1994 FIFA World Cup squad ... Due to these achievements he was voted FIFA goalkeeper of the year ... Germany's first-choice goalkeeper during their 1998 FIFA World Cup campaign, which ended in a 3–0 loss to Croatia in the quarter finals ...
David Silva - International Career - International Goals
5 September 2009 Riazor, A Coruña, Spain Belgium 1–0 5–0 2010 FIFA World Cup qualification 5 ... Coruña, Spain Belgium 4–0 5–0 2010 FIFA World Cup qualification 6. 2009 Bilino Polje, Zenica, Bosnia and Herzegovina Bosnia and Herzegovina 0–1 2–5 2010 FIFA World Cup qualification 7 ...

Famous quotes containing the words cup and/or world:

    The cup of blessing that we bless, is it not a sharing in the blood of Christ? The bread that we break, is it not a sharing in the body of Christ?
    Bible: New Testament, 1 Corinthians 10:16.

    The world is not merely the world. It is our world. It is not merely an industrial world. It is, above all things, a human world.
    Agnes E. Meyer (1887–1970)