FC Barcelona

FC Barcelona

Futbol Club Barcelona, also known as Barcelona and familiarly as Barça, is a professional football club, based in Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain.

Founded in 1899 by a group of Swiss, English and Catalan footballers led by Joan Gamper, the club has become a symbol of Catalan culture and Catalanism, hence the motto "Més que un club" (More than a club). The official Barcelona anthem is the "Cant del Barça" written by Jaume Picas and Josep Maria Espinàs. Unlike many other football clubs, the supporters own and operate Barcelona. It is the world's second-richest football club in terms of revenue, with an annual turnover of €398 million. The club has a long-standing rivalry with Real Madrid; matches between the two teams are referred to as "El Clásico".

They are the current Copa del Rey champions and have won 21 La Liga, 26 Copa del Rey, 10 Supercopa de España, 3 Copa Eva Duarte and 2 Copa de la Liga trophies, as well as being the record holder for the latter four competitions. In international club football Barcelona have won four UEFA Champions League, a record four UEFA Cup Winners' Cup, four UEFA Super Cup, a record three Inter-Cities Fairs Cup and a record two FIFA Club World Cup trophies.

Barcelona is also the only European club to have played continental football every season since 1955, and one of the only three clubs never to have been relegated from La Liga, along with Athletic Bilbao and Real Madrid. In 2009, Barcelona became the first Spanish club to win the treble consisting of La Liga, Copa del Rey, and the Champions League. That same year, it also became the first football club ever to win six out of six competitions in a single year, thus completing the sextuple, comprising the aforementioned treble and the Spanish Super Cup, UEFA Super Cup and FIFA Club World Cup.

Read more about FC Barcelona:  Support, Finances and Ownership, Records, Crest and Shirt, Stadiums, Honours, Management

Other articles related to "fc barcelona, fc, barcelona":

Mariano Gonzalvo - Career - Club Career
... He then signed for FC Barcelona but initially was unable to establish himself in the first team ... He returned to FC Barcelona and made his Primera División debut on December 13, 1942 in a 4-2 away defeat against Sevilla FC ... was a prominent member of a very successful Barcelona team, playing 331 games and scoring 56 goals in all competitions ...
List Of FC Barcelona Players
... FC Barcelona is a football club based in Barcelona, Spain ... Barcelona is one of only three clubs never to have been relegated from La Liga and the most successful club in Spanish football along with Real Madrid, having won a ... FC Barcelona is the only European side to have played continental football in every season since its inception in 1955 and one of the most successful clubs in European football, having won 12 official UEFA trophies ...
List Of FC Barcelona Players - References
... homepage, which list player data for each completed season "LFP – Barcelona Seasons" ... Retrieved 23 May 2010 Statistics from the latest season page found here "FC Barcelona season 09–10" ... Retrieved 23 March 2010 "Barcelona – Legendary Players" ...
Spain National Roller Hockey (quad) Team - Spaniard Squad - European Championship 2012
... Club 1 Sergi Fernández GK Calviá, 1985 FC Barcelona 2 Toni Pérez FW Oviedo, 1990 Liceo La Coruña 3 Marc Gual DF Sant Sadurní d'Anoia, 1980 FC Barcelona 4 Marc Torra FW Tordera, 1984 FC Barcelona 5 ...
FC Barcelona - Management
... See also List of FC Barcelona presidents Office Name President Sandro Rosell Vice president of social area Jordi Cardoner Vice president of sports area Josep Bartomeu Corporate director general Antoni Rossich ...