FA Cup

The Football Association Challenge Cup, commonly known as the FA Cup, is a knockout cup competition in English football and is the oldest association football competition in the world. The "FA Cup" is run by and named after the Football Association and usually refers to the English men's tournament, although a women's tournament is also held. Its current sponsored name is the FA Cup with Budweiser.

The FA Cup was first held in 1871–72. Entry is open to all teams who compete in the Premier League, the Football League and in steps one to five of the FA National League System, as well as selected teams in step 6. This means that clubs of all standards compete, from the largest clubs in England and Wales down to amateur village teams. The tournament has become known for the possibility for "minnows" from the lower divisions to become "giant-killers" by eliminating top clubs from the tournament and even theoretically winning the Cup, although lower division teams rarely progress beyond the early stages. The qualification rounds and a system of byes mean that the very smallest and very biggest teams almost never meet.

The holders of the FA Cup are Chelsea, who defeated Liverpool 2–1 in the 2012 final for their fourth triumph in six years and seventh overall.

Read more about FA Cup:  Format, Venues, Trophies, Sponsorship, Giant-killers, FA Cup Winners and Finalists, Media Coverage

Other articles related to "fa cup, cup":

1947–48 Blackpool F.C. Season
... They also reached the FA Cup Final, in which they lost 4-2 to Manchester United (see 1948 FA Cup Final) ... with 31 goals (21 in the league and ten in the FA Cup, including a hat-trick against Tottenham in the semi-finals) ...
1961–62 Football League - First Division
... Ipswich Town (1st English title) Relegated Cardiff City Chelsea European Cup 1962–63 Ipswich Town FA Cup winners European Cup Winners' Cup 1962–63 ...
1975–76 Football League
... They also lifted the UEFA Cup for the second time in their history ... ever position of runners-up and qualify for the UEFA Cup ... of his career had been the Inter-Cities Fairs Cup triumph of 1970 and the Double win 1971, but Arsenal had fallen behind the best in recent seasons and Mee handed over the reins to Terry Neill ...
David France Collection - Medals
... by the club, except the 1986–87 League Championship and the 1995 FA Cup. 1938–39, 1962–63 and 1984–85 the 1906, 1933, 1966 and 1984 FA Cup winners medals plus a 1985 European Cup Winners' Cup medal ... League Championship (1918–19), Division Two winners (1931–32), FA Cup runners-up medals (1897, 1907 and 1968), Milk Cup runners-up (1984) plus a ...
FA Cup - Media Coverage
... The FA Cup Final is one of ten events reserved for live broadcast on UK terrestrial television under the Ofcom Code on Sports and Other Listed and Designated Events ... From August 2008 until June 2012, FA Cup matches were shown live by ITV1 across England and Wales, with UTV broadcasting to Northern Ireland ... ITV shows sixteen FA Cup games per season, including first pick live matches from each of the 1st to 6th rounds of the competition plus one semi-final exclusively live ...

Famous quotes containing the word cup:

    The cup of blessing that we bless, is it not a sharing in the blood of Christ? The bread that we break, is it not a sharing in the body of Christ?
    Bible: New Testament, 1 Corinthians 10:16.