Eyalets were a former primary administrative division of the Ottoman Empire. The term is sometimes translated province or governorate. Depending on the rank of the governor, they were also sometimes known as pashaliks (governed by a pasha), beylerbeyliks (governed by a bey or beylerbey), and kapudanliks (governed by a kapudan).

From 1453 to the beginning of the nineteenth century the Ottoman local government was loosely structured. The Empire was at first divided into provinces called Eyalets, presided over by a Pasha of three Tails. The Grand Vizier was responsible for nominating all the high officers of State, both in the capital and the provinces. Between 1861 and 1866, these Eyalets were abolished, and the territory was divided for administrative purposes into Vilayets.

The eyalets were subdivided into districts called livas or sanjaks, each of which was under the charge of a Pasha of one tail, with the title of Mira-lira, or Sanjak-bey. These provinces were usually called pashalics by Europeans. The pasha was invested with powers of absolute government within his province, being the chief of both the military and financial departments, as well as police and criminal justice.

At official functions, the order of precedence was Egypt, Baghdad, Abyssinia, Buda, Anatolia, "Mera'ish", and the Capitan Pasha in Asia and Buda, Egypt, Abyssinia, Baghdad, and Rumelia in Europe, with the remainder arranged according to the chronological order of their conquest.

Read more about Eyalet:  List, Maps

Other articles related to "eyalet, eyalets":

Sidon Eyalet
... The Eyalet (or Beylerbeylik) of Sidon (Ottoman Turkish ایالت صیدا Eyālet-i Ṣaydā) was an eyalet of the Ottoman Empire ... In the 19th century, the eyalet extended from the border with Egypt to the Bay of Kesrouan, including the Plain of Falastin (the Israeli coastal plain), the Jezreel Valley ... of its capital, it was also known as the Eyalet of Safad, Beirut or Akka/Acre ...
Eyalet - Maps
... Eyalets in the 17th century 1855 map of Turkey in Asia by Joseph Hutchins Colton Map of European Turkey by Carl Ritter, published in 1864 ...
History Of Banat - History - Ottoman Administration (1552–1716)
... into the Ottoman Empire in 1552, and became an Ottoman eyalet (province) named the Eyalet of Temeşvar ... Eyalet of Temeşvar and Banate of Lugos and Karansebes in 1568 Eyalet of Temeşvar in the middle of the 17th century Eyalet of Temeşvar in 1699 ...
Subdivisions Of The Ottoman Empire - 1362-1864 - Sanjaks
... The provinces (eyalets) were divided into sanjaks (also called livas) governed by sanjakbeys (also called Mutesarrifs) and were further subdivided into timars (fief ... The districts which made up an eyalet were known as sanjaks, each under the command of a sanjak-bey ... The number of sanjaks in each eyalet varied considerably ...
Sanjak Of Smederevo
... It belonged to Rumelia Eyalet between 1459 and 1541, and again between 1716 and 1717 and again 1739 and 1817 (nominally to 1830), to Budin Eyalet between 1541 and 1686, and ...