ETH Zurich

ETH Zurich

ETH Zürich (German: Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich) is an engineering, science, technology, mathematics and management university in the City of Zurich, Switzerland. Like its sister institution École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), it is an integral part of the ETH Domain that is directly subordinate to Switzerland's Federal Department of Home Affairs.

ETH Zurich is consistently ranked by all major World University rankings among the top universities in the world. It is considered the best university in continental Europe by the Shanghai Ranking ARWU, the Times Higher Education Ranking and the QS World University Ranking. It is currently ranked 8th best university in the world in engineering, science and technology. Twenty-one Nobel Prizes have been awarded to students or professors of the Institute in the past, the most famous of which is Albert Einstein in 1921, and the most recent is Richard F. Heck in 2010. It is a founding member of the IDEA League and the International Alliance of Research Universities (IARU). It is a member of the CESAER and Top Industrial Managers for Europe networks.

The school was founded by the Swiss Federal Government in 1854 with the stated mission to educate engineers and scientists, serve as a national center of excellence in science and technology and provide a hub for interaction between the scientific community and industry.

Read more about ETH Zurich:  History, Reputation, Admission and Education, Campus, Student Life, Traditions, Notable Alumni and Faculty, Gallery, Main Polytechnics in Europe

Other articles related to "eth, zurich, eth zurich":

Konrad Osterwalder - Life and Career
... Technology (Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule ETH) in Zurich, where he earned a Diploma in theoretical physics in 1965 and a Doctorate in theoretical physics in 1970 ... Professor for Mathematical Physics at ETH Zurich ... During his tenure at ETH Zurich, Rector Osterwalder served as Head of the Department of Mathematics (1986–1990) and Head of the Planning Committee (1990–1995), and was founder of the Centro Stefano ...
List Of Nobel Laureates By University Affiliation - ETH Zurich
... at the time of award Academic staff after award ETH Zurich 31 (unofficial) 21 (official) Albert Einstein Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen Fritz Haber Charles-Edouard Guillaume Tadeus ...
Serec - Member Organizations
... Telecommunications Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich (ETH Zurich), Department of Information Technology Electrical Engineering (D-ITET) Biomedical Engineering (Biosenors ...