East African Community

The East African Community (EAC) is an intergovernmental organisation comprising five countries in East Africa: Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda. Pierre Nkurunziza, the President of the Republic of Burundi, is the EAC's current Chairman. The organisation was originally founded in 1967, collapsed in 1977, and was officially revived on July 7, 2000. In 2008, after negotiations with the Southern Africa Development Community (SADC) and the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA), the EAC agreed to an expanded free trade area including the member states of all three. The EAC is an integral part of the African Economic Community.

The East African Community is a potential precursor to the establishment of the East African Federation, a proposed federation of its five members into a single state. In 2010, the EAC launched its own common market for goods, labour and capital within the region, with the goal of a common currency by 2012 and full political federation in 2015.

The geographical region encompassed by the EAC covers an area of 1.8 million square kilometres, with a combined population of about 132 million (July 2009 est.)

Read more about East African CommunityHistory, Political Dimensions, Plans, East African Court of Justice, East African Legislative Assembly, East African Passport, Internet in East Africa, Comparison With Other Regional Blocs

Other articles related to "east african community, east african, african, community":

International Travel Without Passports - Africa - East African Community
... Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania comprise the East African Community ... Each country may issue, to an eligible citizen, an East African passport ...
East African Community Treaty
... The East African Community Treaty was signed on November 30, 1999 in Arusha, Tanzania between five countries, including Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Uganda and The United ... The accord established the East African Community whereby all participating nations agreed to establish more cooperative commercial and political relations ...
East African Community - Comparison With Other Regional Blocs
... African Economic Community Pillars regional blocs (REC) Area Population GDP (PPP) Member states AEC 29,910,442 853,520,010 2,053,706 2,406 54 ECOWAS 5,112,903 300,000,000 703,279 1,748 15 ECCAS 6,667,4 ...

Famous quotes containing the words community, east and/or african:

    ... to a poet, the human community is like the community of birds to a bird, singing to each other. Love is one of the reasons we are singing to one another, love of language itself, love of sound, love of singing itself, and love of the other birds.
    Sharon Olds (b. 1942)

    I know no East or West, North or South, when it comes to my class fighting the battle for justice. If it is my fortune to live to see the industrial chain broken from every workingman’s child in America, and if then there is one black child in Africa in bondage, there shall I go.
    Mother Jones (1830–1930)

    So in Jamaica it is the aim of everybody to talk English, act English and look English. And that last specification is where the greatest difficulties arise. It is not so difficult to put a coat of European culture over African culture, but it is next to impossible to lay a European face over an African face in the same generation.
    Zora Neale Hurston (1891–1960)