Dove Award For Song of The Year

The following is a list of recipients of the GMA Dove Award for Song of the Year:

  • 2012 "Blessings" (Laura Story)
  • 2011 "Sometimes I Cry" (Jason Crabb)
  • 2010 "By Your Side" (Tenth Avenue North)
  • 2009 "Give Me Your Eyes" (Brandon Heath)
  • 2008 "East to West" (Casting Crowns)
  • 2007 "My Savior My God" (Aaron Shust)
  • 2006 "How Great Is Our God" (Chris Tomlin)
  • 2005 "Who Am I" (Mark Hall, recorded by Casting Crowns)
  • 2004 "Word of God Speak" (Pete Kipley, Bart Millard)
  • 2003 "Holy" (Nichole Nordeman, Mark Hammond)
  • 2002 "I Can Only Imagine" (Bart Millard)
  • 2001 "Redeemer" (Nicole C. Mullen)
  • 2000 "This Is Your Time" (Michael W. Smith, Wes King)
  • 1999 "My Deliverer" (Rich Mullins, Mitch McVicker)
  • 1998 "On My Knees" (David Mullen, Nicole Coleman-Mullen, Michael Ochs)
  • 1997 "Butterfly Kisses (song)" (Bob Carlisle, Randy Thomas)
  • 1996 "Jesus Freak" (Mark Heimermann, Toby McKeehan)
  • 1995 "God Is In Control" (Twila Paris)
  • 1994 "In Christ Alone" (Shawn Craig, Don Koch)
  • 1993 "The Great Adventure" (Steven Curtis Chapman, Geoff Moore)
  • 1992 "Place In This World" (Amy Grant, Michael W. Smith, Wayne Kirkpatrick)
  • 1991 "Another Time, Another Place" (Gary Driskell)
  • 1990 "Thank You" (Ray Boltz)
  • 1989 "Friend Of A Wounded Heart" (Wayne Watson, Claire Cloninger)
  • 1988 "In The Name Of The Lord" (Phil McHugh, Gloria Gaither, Sandi Patti Helvering)
  • 1987 "How Excellent Is Thy Name" (Dick & Melodie Tunney, Paul Smith)
  • 1986 "Via Dolorosa" (Billy Sprague, Niles Borop)
  • 1985 "Upon This Rock" (Gloria Gaither, Dony McGuire)
  • 1984 "More Than Wonderful" (Lanny Wolfe)
  • 1983 "El Shaddai" (Michael Card, John Thompson)
  • 1982 "We Shall Behold Him" (Dottie Rambo)
  • 1981 "Praise The Lord" (Brown Bannister, Mike Hudson)
  • 1980 "He's Alive" (Don Francisco)
  • 1978 "Rise Again" (Dallas Holm)
  • 1977 "Learning To Lean" (John Stallings)
  • 1976 "Statue Of Liberty" (Neil Enloe)
  • 1975 "One Day At A Time" (Marijohn Wilkin, Kris Kristofferson)
  • 1974 "Because He Lives" (Bill Gaither)
  • 1973 "Why Me, Lord?" (Kris Kristofferson)
  • 1972 "The Lighthouse" (Ron Hinson)
  • 1971 Award vacated as a result of 1971 GMA Music Awards Scandal
    • Had been won by "The King Is Coming," Bill and Gloria Gaither before the GMA vacated all awards after the discovery of the voting irregularities.
  • 1970 "The Night Before Easter" (Don Sumner, Dwayne Friend)
  • 1969 "Jesus Is Coming Soon" (R. E. Winsett)

Famous quotes containing the words year, song, award and/or dove:

    Even an attorney of moderate talent can postpone doomsday year after year, for the system of appeals that pervades American jurisprudence amounts to a legalistic wheel of fortune, a game of chance, somewhat fixed in the favor of the criminal, that the participants play interminably.
    Truman Capote (1924–1984)

    Tell her that goes
    With song upon her lips
    But sings not out the song, nor knows
    The maker of it, some other mouth,
    May be as fair as hers,
    Ezra Pound (1885–1972)

    The award of a pure gold medal for poetry would flatter the recipient unduly: no poem ever attains such carat purity.
    Robert Graves (1895–1985)

    On the day that will always belong to you,
    lunar clockwork had faltered
    and I was certain. Walking
    the streets of Manhattan I thought:
    Remember this day. I felt already
    like an urn, filling with wine.
    —Rita Dove (b. 1952)