Die Hard

Die Hard is a 1988 American action film directed by John McTiernan and written by Steve de Souza and Jeb Stuart. It is an adaptation of the 1979 novel Nothing Lasts Forever by Roderick Thorp and follows New York City Police Department detective John McClane (Bruce Willis) as he takes on a group of highly organized criminals, led by Hans Gruber (Alan Rickman), performing a heist under the guise of a terrorist attack, using hostages, including McClane's wife Holly (Bonnie Bedelia), to keep the police at bay.

The film's success spawned four sequels: Die Hard 2 (1990), Die Hard with a Vengeance (1995), Live Free or Die Hard (2007) and A Good Day to Die Hard (2013).

Read more about Die HardPlot, Cast, Production