Detroit Shock

The Detroit Shock was a Women's National Basketball Association (WNBA) team based in Auburn Hills, Michigan. They were the 2003, 2006 and 2008 WNBA champion. As of 2011, they remain the only Eastern Conference franchise (other than the 1997 Houston Comets, who moved to the Western Conference the following year) to win a WNBA Championship.

Debuting in 1998, it was one of the league's first expansion franchises. It was also the first WNBA expansion franchise to win a WNBA Championship. The team was the sister team of the Detroit Pistons and during the 2009 season was coached by Pistons legend Rick Mahorn.

On October 20, 2009, it was announced that the Shock would be moving to Tulsa, Oklahoma to play in the new downtown arena, the BOK Center. Former men's college coach Nolan Richardson was named the team's new head coach. The Shock roster and history was retained along with the Shock name, but the team colors were changed to black, red, and gold.

Read more about Detroit ShockSeason-by-season Records, Coaches and Others, All-Stars

Other articles related to "detroit shock, detroit":

The Game At Radio City - The Game - Rosters
... PG Sue Bird Seattle Storm SG Diana Taurasi Phoenix Mercury SF Swin Cash Detroit Shock SF Delisha Milton-Jones 1 Los Angeles Sparks SF Katie Smith 3 Minnesota Lynx SF Sheryl Swoopes 3 ... Phoenix Mercury SF Nykesha Sales Connecticut Sun PF Cheryl Ford Detroit Shock C Taj McWilliams-Franklin Connecticut Sun Reserves PG Becky Hammon New York Liberty PG Lindsay ...
Deanna Nolan - WNBA Career
... In the 2001 WNBA Draft, Nolan was selected by the Detroit Shock in the first round (sixth overall) ... Nolan also helped the Detroit Shock win their first championship in 2003 ... In 2006, she won another championship with Detroit and was named MVP of the 2006 WNBA Finals ...
Barbara Farris
... Barbara Farris, born September 10, 1976, was a basketball player for the Detroit Shock in the WNBA ... On May 29, 2009 Farris signed with the Detroit Shock ... From 2000-2005, Farris played for the WNBA's Detroit Shock ...
Eastern Conference (WNBA) - Eastern Conference Champions
... Charlotte Sting 2002 New York Liberty 2003 Detroit Shock 2004 Connecticut Sun 2005 Connecticut Sun 2006 Detroit Shock 2007 Detroit Shock 2008 Detroit Shock 2009 Indiana Fever 2010 Atlanta Dream ...

Famous quotes containing the word shock:

    a fortress against ideas and against the
    Shuddering insidious shock of the theory-vendors
    The little sardine men crammed in a monster toy
    Who tilt their aggregate beast against our crumbling Troy.
    Louis MacNeice (1907–1963)