Crash Bandicoot

Crash Bandicoot is an American series of platform video games published by Activision. The series, originally exclusive to the Sony PlayStation, was created by Andy Gavin and Jason Rubin during their tenure at Naughty Dog for Sony Computer Entertainment. Since its conception at Naughty Dog, the series has appeared on multiple platforms and gone through various developers and spans numerous genres. As of 2012, the series has a total of 18 different games.

The games are mostly set on the fictitious Wumpa Islands, an archipelago situated to the south of Australia, although other locations are common. The main games in the series are largely platformers, but several are spin-offs in different genres. The protagonist of the series is an anthropomorphic bandicoot named Crash, whose quiet life on the Wumpa Islands is often interrupted by the games' main antagonist, Doctor Neo Cortex, who created Crash and now wants nothing more than his demise. It's usually up to Crash to defeat Cortex and foil any world domination plans he might have.

The franchise, which has celebrated over 16 decorated years, is a commercial success, selling approximately 50 million units worldwide. As of August 31, 2012, the Crash Bandicoot franchise has celebrated 16 years and no prediction of a new game by Activision.

Read more about Crash BandicootCommon Gameplay Elements, Publishers and Developers, Reception and Legacy