Bathurst 1000

The Bathurst 1000 (currently called the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000) is a 1,000-kilometre (620 mi) touring car race held annually at Mount Panorama Circuit in Bathurst, New South Wales, Australia. The race was traditionally run on the first Sunday in October but in recent years has been held on the second Sunday; the 2012 V8 Supercars race calendar returns the race to its traditional first Sunday of the month. The race traces its lineage to the 1960 Armstrong 500. Since then 52 races have taken place under the combined history of two events at two venues in two states. It is known among fans and broadcasters as "The Great Race", and is widely regarded as the pinnacle of Australian motorsport. Since 1999, the race has been run exclusively for V8 Supercars and is now a round of the V8 Supercar Championship Series.

The race winners receive the Peter Brock Trophy which was introduced at the 2006 race in honour of deceased nine-time Bathurst winner Peter Brock, most successful driver in the history of the race.

Read more about Bathurst 1000:  Mount Panorama, Race History, Famous Winners, Records, Deaths, Peter Brock Trophy

Other articles related to "bathurst 1000, bathurst, 1000":

Bathurst 1000 - Peter Brock Trophy
... from 2006 onwards, the drivers in the Bathurst 1000 would be racing to win the Peter Brock Trophy ... co-drivers parading cars that Brock won Bathurst in ...
Armin Hahne - Bathurst 1000
... big Jags in 1985 saw Hahne team with Australian racer John Goss to win the 1985 James Hardie 1000 after starting sixth ... His next time at Bathurst was in 1987 for the World Touring Car Championship round in an ill-fated Maserati Biturbo with Australian Kevin Bartlett ... That was Hahne's last race in the Bathurst 1000 ...
V8 Supercar - Marquee Events - Bathurst 1000
... Known as the "Great Race", the Bathurst 1000 is a traditional 1000 km test of drivers, teams and machines held at the Mount Panorama Circuit in Bathurst, New South Wales ... But Bathurst has always been an intensely tactical race, hinging on pit stop strategy (fuel economy, tyres, etc.) driver talent and outright overall speed ... The 2006 Bathurst 1000 became a very emotional event to all drivers, teams, friends and fans of one of its greatest drivers in its history, 9 time winner of the "Great Race ...