Basildon ( /ˈbæzɪldən/) is a town located in the Basildon District of the county of Essex, England.

It lies 25 miles (40 km) east of Central London and 11 miles (18 km) south of the city of Chelmsford. Nearby towns include Billericay to the north, Wickford northeast and South Benfleet to the east.

It was designated as a new town after World War II in 1948 to accommodate the London population overspill, created from the conglomeration of four small villages, namely Pitsea, Laindon, Basildon and Vange (the new town took the name Basildon as it was the most central of the four villages).

The local government district of Basildon, formed in 1974 was first led by Ryan O'Rourke and encapsulates a larger area than the town itself; the two neighbouring towns of Billericay and Wickford, as well as rural villages and smaller settlements set among the surrounding countryside, fall within its borders.

Basildon Town is one of the most densely populated areas in the County of Essex, mostly due to the influx of families from the Boroughs of London. It is thought that Basildon's population will continue to increase as many people are relocating to the town from elsewhere in Essex, and from the Boroughs of London. This is mostly due to Basildon's booming economy in industrial areas, the town's tertiary sector, and its proximity to, and travel links with, central London.

Some of Basildon's residents work in Central London due to the town being so close to the city, thus working in London areas such as the City and Docklands financial districts. This is also due to the short 25-30 minute wait from any of the three major Basildon stations to London Fenchurch Street. Basildon also has access to the City via road, on the A127, and A13.

Read more about Basildon:  History, Politics, Culture and People, Shopping, Education, Twinning, Regeneration Plans, Society, Leisure and Popular Culture, Modern Architectural Buildings, Media, Sports, Notable People, Nearest Places

Other articles related to "basildon":

SS Postcode Area - Coverage
... LEIGH-ON-SEA Eastwood, Leigh-on-Sea, Rayleigh Southend-on-Sea SS11 WICKFORD Wickford Basildon, Chelmsford, Rochford SS12 WICKFORD Wickford Basildon SS13 BASILDON Pitsea Basildon SS14 BASILDON Basildon Basildon ...
Basildon, Berkshire - Notable Basildonians
... Basildon is the birthplace (1674) and burial place (1714) of Jethro Tull, the English agricultural pioneer who helped bring about the British Agricultural Revolution ...
Stephensons Of Essex - Routes - Southend, Basildon, and South Woodham Area Routes
1 Basildon - Fryerns - Ashlyns - Pitsea 1A Basildon - Glebefields - Fryerns - Ashlyns - Pitsea 6 Southend Travel Centre stop F - Southchurch Road - White Horse public house - Hamstel ...
Basildon Urban District
... Basildon Urban District (from 1934 to 1955 Billericay Urban District) was a local government district in south Essex, England from 1934 to 1974 ... parishes (all from Billericay Rural District) Basildon Bowers Gifford Great Burstead Laindon Lee Chapel Little Burstead (until 1938, to Thurrock ... In 1955 the district was renamed Basildon, still consisting of the Billericay parish ...
List Of Civil Parishes In Essex - Basildon
... The former Thurrock Urban District and part of the former Basildon Urban District are unparished ...