AVN Award

AVN Award

The AVN Awards are movie awards sponsored and presented by the American adult video industry trade magazine AVN (Adult Video News) to honor exceptional performance in various aspects of the creation and marketing of American pornographic movies. They are called the "Oscars of porn". The AVN Awards are divided into nearly 100 categories, some of which are analogous to industry awards offered in other film and video genres, and others that are specific to pornographic/erotic film and video.

AVN sponsored the first AVN Awards ceremony in February 1984. The award ceremony occurs in early January during the AVN Adult Entertainment Expo, in Las Vegas, Nevada. Since 2008, the ceremony has aired in a form edited for time on Showtime, which is usually broadcast in a 90-minute timeslot.

Awards for gay adult video were a part of the AVN awards from the 1986 ceremony through the 1998 ceremony. The increasing number of categories made the show unwieldy and for the 1999 ceremony AVN Magazine began hosting the GayVN Awards, an annual adult movie award event for gay adult video.

Awards often go to consistent advertisers in AVN.

Read more about AVN AwardAward Categories

Other articles related to "avn award, avn":

Lee Stone - Awards
2001 AVN Award nominee – Best Group Sex Scene in a Video 2002 AVN Award nominee – Best Couples Sex Scene in a Video 2003 AVN Award nominee – Male Performer of the Year 2003 AVN ...
Lola (pornographic Actress) - Awards and Nominations
2001 AVN Award nominee – Best New Starlet 2001 AVN Award nominee – Best Anal Sex Scene (Video) – Welcome to Chloeville (with Chloe Anthony Crane) 2001 AVN Award nominee ...
Shay Sights - Awards
2002 AVN Award nominee – Best Group Sex Scene (Video) – X-Rated Auditions 3 (with eight others) 2004 AVN Award nominee – Best Tease Performance 2006 AVN Award nominee ...
AVN Award Winners - Special Awards - Reuben Sturman Award
... of America West 2001 Ed Powers, Ed Powers Productions 2001 Mark Kernes, Senior Editor, AVN 2002 Gloria Leonard, Past Pres ...
Michelle Mayo - Awards
2009 AVN Award – Nominee - Best New Starlet 2009 NightMoves – Winner - Best New Starlet - Fan Choice 2010 AVN Award – Nominee - Best New Web Starlet – www.JaydenJaymesXXX.com 2010 AVN Award – Winner ...

Famous quotes containing the word award:

    The award of a pure gold medal for poetry would flatter the recipient unduly: no poem ever attains such carat purity.
    Robert Graves (1895–1985)