Australian Endurance Championship

The Australian Endurance Championship was first contested in 1981, as a CAMS sanctioned national motor racing title for car manufacturers. Replacing the Australian Championship of Makes (which had been held from 1976 to 1980), it was decided over a series of endurance races for touring cars complying with CAMS Group C regulations.

In the years 1982 to 1984 the winner of the Australian Endurance Championship was the most successful driver rather than the manufacturer. The Australian Endurance Championship of Makes, run concurrently with the drivers’ title, was the new name for the manufacturers award.

For 1985 the manufacturers’ title was again renamed, now becoming the Australian Manufacturers' Championship. The dual Australian Endurance Championship / Australian Manufacturers' Championship was contested in both 1985 & 1986 over a series of endurance races for Touring cars complying with International Group A regulations.

No Australian Endurance Championship was awarded in the years 1987 to 1989 however the Australian Manufacturers' Championship continued, now contested over the same series of sprint races as the Australian Touring Car Championship.

In 1990 CAMS re-instated the Australian Endurance Championship, once again as a drivers championship run over a series of Touring Car endurance races and they moved the Australian Manufacturers' Championship title back to this series. This format was only maintained for one more year, the final series being run in 1991.

The Australian Endurance Championship title was revived again in 2011 when it was awarded in conjunction with the 2011 Australian Manufacturers' Championship.

Read more about Australian Endurance Championship:  Results

Other articles related to "australian endurance championship, australian, championship":

Australian Endurance Championship - Results
... Ian Tulloch Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X For winners of the associated Australian Endurance Championship of Makes and Australian Manufacturers ...
Gregg Hansford - Career Summary
... Season Series Position Car Team 1973 Australian 500 cc Unlimited Motorcycle Series 1st 250 ... cc World Championship 2nd Kawasaki KR250 Kawasaki 350 cc World Championship 3rd Kawasaki KR350 Kawasaki 1979 ...
1986 Australian Endurance Championship
... The 1986 Australian Endurance Championship was a CAMS sanctioned motor racing title open to Touring Cars as specified in the National Competition Rules of ... The title, which was the sixth Australian Endurance Championship, was contested concurrently with the 1986 Australian Manufacturers' Championship, which was the sixteenth in a sequence of ... The Australian Endurance Championship was won by Jim Richards driving a BMW 635CSi and the Australian Manufacturers' Championship was awarded to Nissan ...
Peter Mc Leod - Career Results
... Season Series Position Car Team 1980 Australian Touring Car Championship 24th Mazda RX-7 Peter McLeod 1981 Australian Touring Car Championship 17th Mazda RX-7 Peter McLeod 1982 Australian Touring Car Championship ... Team Wollongong 1986 Australian Touring Car Championship 19th Holden VK Commodore SS Group A Autopart Centre 1986 Australian Endurance Championship 56th Holden VK Commodore SS Group A Autopart Centre 1987 ...

Famous quotes containing the words australian and/or endurance:

    Beyond the horizon, or even the knowledge, of the cities along the coast, a great, creative impulse is at work—the only thing, after all, that gives this continent meaning and a guarantee of the future. Every Australian ought to climb up here, once in a way, and glimpse the various, manifold life of which he is a part.
    Vance Palmer (1885–1959)

    By your endurance you will gain your souls.
    Bible: New Testament, Luke 21:19.