Australian Colonies Government Act

Formally known as the Act for the Better Government of Her Majesty's Australian Colonies (1850), the Australian Colonies Government Act, was legislation enacted by the British House of Commons separating the southeastern Australian district of Port Phillip from New South Wales and establishing it as the colony of Victoria.

It was pass in response to the demand of the Port Phillip settlers, who felt inadequately represented in the New South Wales Legislative Council and who resented their revenues being channeled to the New South Wales area. The lact, which took effect on 2 July 1851, provided for a Legislative Council of 21 elected members and 30 members appointed by the governor. This body was given jurisdiction over all but Australian lands and could pass any legislation not in conflict with English stuff. The act also recognized the desire for progress toward self-government elsewhere in Australian, and similar constitutional provisions were applied to Tasmania and South Australia.

Famous quotes containing the words act, government, australian and/or colonies:

    Since you saw no form when the LORD spoke to you at Horeb out of the fire, take care and watch yourselves closely, so that you do not act corruptly by making an idol for yourselves, in the form of any figure -the likeness of male or female...
    Bible: Hebrew, Deuteronomy 4:15,16.

    A government of laws, and not of men.
    John Adams (1735–1826)

    The Australian mind, I can state with authority, is easily boggled.
    Charles Osborne (b. 1927)

    What is music. A passion for colonies not a love of country.
    Gertrude Stein (1874–1946)