Ashok Chakra Award

Ashok Chakra Award

The Ashok Chakra is an Indian military decoration awarded for valor, courageous action or self-sacrifice away from the battlefield. It is the peace time equivalent of the Param Vir Chakra, and is awarded for the "most conspicuous bravery or some daring or pre-eminent valour or self-sacrifice" other than in the face of the enemy. The decoration may be awarded either to military or civilian personnel and may be awarded posthumously. It replaced the British George Cross.

Subsequent awards of the Ashoka Chakra are recognized by a bar to the medal ribbon (Flt Lt Suhas Biswas was the first Indian Air Force officer to be awarded with Ashoka Chakra). It is possible for a recipient to be awarded the Kirti Chakra or Shaurya Chakra in addition for separate acts of gallantry.

Read more about Ashok Chakra Award:  History, Overview, Ashok Chakra Awardees List

Other articles related to "ashok chakra award, ashok chakra, ashok, chakra":

Ashok Chakra Awardees List
... He was awarded the Ashok Chakra for extreme bravery in the face of danger. 2009 – Ashok Kamte Maharashtra Additional Commissionor, died during a battle with terrorists in 2008 Mumbai Terrorist Attack ... Vinay, awarded the Kirti Chakra posthumously) who had been seriously injured ...

Famous quotes containing the word award:

    The award of a pure gold medal for poetry would flatter the recipient unduly: no poem ever attains such carat purity.
    Robert Graves (1895–1985)