Antonio Villaraigosa

Antonio Villaraigosa

Antonio Ramón Villaraigosa (/ˌviː.əraɪˈɡoʊsə/; born Antonio Ramón Villar, Jr.; January 23, 1953) is an American politician who served as the 41st Mayor of Los Angeles, California from 2005 to 2013. Prior to being elected Mayor he was a member of the California State Assembly from 1994 to 2000, the Democratic leader of the Assembly from 1996 to 1998, and the Speaker of the California State Assembly from 1998 to 2000. After leaving the State Assembly due to term limits he was elected to the Los Angeles City Council from 2003 until he was elected Mayor in 2005.

A member of the Democratic Party, as a national co-chairman of Hillary Clinton's presidential campaign, and as a member of President Barack Obama's Transition Economic Advisory Board, and as Chairman of the 2012 Democratic National Convention in September 2012.

He ran for Mayor in 2001 against Los Angeles City Attorney James Hahn, but lost in the second round of voting. He ran again in 2005 in a rematch against Hahn and won. During his tenure as Mayor, he gained national attention for his work and was featured in Time's story on the country's 25 most influential Latinos. In 2011 he served as the President of the United States Conference of Mayors. He was the third Mexican American to have served as Mayor of Los Angeles, and the first in over 130 years. He was term limited and could not run for re-election in 2013.

Read more about Antonio Villaraigosa:  Early Life and Education, Early Political Career, International Publicity, Public Opinion, See Also

Other articles related to "antonio villaraigosa":

Mayor Of Los Angeles - Mayoral Runoff Races
... Antonio Villaraigosa received a majority in the first round. 2005 Antonio Villaraigosa 289,116 James K ... Hahn 304,791 Antonio Villaraigosa 264,611 1997 Richard Riordan 250,771 Tom Hayden 140,648 1993 Richard Riordan 314,559 Michael Woo 268,137 1989 No runoff ...

Famous quotes containing the word antonio:

    Socialism can only arrive by bicycle.
    —José Antonio Viera Gallo (b. 1943)