AFC East

The American Football Conference – Eastern Division or AFC East is a division of the National Football League's American Football Conference. There are currently four teams that reside in the division: Buffalo Bills of Orchard Park, Miami Dolphins of Miami Gardens, New England Patriots of Foxborough, and New York Jets of Florham Park.

Since the division's enfranchisement in 1960, with the creation of the American Football League, the division has represented in 18 Super Bowls and won 7 of them, with the most recent during the 2004 National Football League season by the New England Patriots. The most recent appearance in the Super Bowl by an AFC East team was the Patriots in Super Bowl XLVI.

Entering 2012 the Patriots had the most wins in the division's history, with a record of 414-365-9, with a playoff record of 23-16 (3-4 in Super Bowls). The Dolphins were second at 400-300-4 (having played 84 fewer games than their division rivals) with a playoff record of 20-20 (2-3 in Super Bowls). The Bills were at 364-416-8 with a playoff record of 14-15 but winless having gone to four consecutive Super Bowls. The Jets held a record of 359-421-8, with a playoff record of 12-13 including victory in Super Bowl III.

In 2012, the Patriots broke a tie with the Dolphins for winning the most division titles; New England has won 15 division titles to Miami's 14. The Bills have won ten division titles, and the Jets have won four.

Two teams formerly in the division combined for ten AFL/AFC East titles - the Houston Oilers (now the Tennessee Titans) won four division titles during the AFL era while the Baltimore-Indianapolis Colts won six division titles in the 32 seasons they were in the division.

Read more about AFC EastAFL Eastern Division, AFC East, Division Lineups, Division Champions, Wild Card Qualifiers, Schedule Assignments

Other articles related to "afc east, afc, east":

National Football League Rivalries - American Football Conference - AFC East - Miami Dolphins Vs. New York Jets
... In the Dolphins–Jets rivalry, they have often competed for divisional supremacy, and have played a number of classic games ... Currently, the Jets lead the series 47–43–1, while the Dolphins have won the lone playoff meeting, defeating the Jets in the 1982 AFC Championship Game ...
AFC East - Schedule Assignments
2012 AFC South NFC West 2013 AFC North NFC South 2014 AFC West NFC North 2015 AFC South NFC East 2016 AFC North NFC West 2017 AFC West NFC South 2018 AFC South NFC North 2019 AFC North NFC ...
List Of Current National Football League Staffs - AFC East - New York Jets
... and Conditioning – Pierre Ngo → Coaching Staff → More NFL staffs AFC East BUF MIA NE NYJ North BAL CIN CLE PIT South HOU IND JAC TEN West DEN KC OAK SD NFC ...
History Of The Indianapolis Colts - 1984–1997: Early Struggles - 1988–94: Playoff Drought
... edged by the 12–4 Buffalo Bills for the AFC East division crown ... in 1989 and ended the season with an 8–8 record, good for second in the AFC East ... record en rout to a 4–12 regular season record, good for fifth in the AFC East ...
Tom Brady - Professional Career - 2001 Season
... Their second game, and home opener, on September 23, was against their AFC East rival, the New York Jets ... in a 44–13 victory over the Colts (in their last season in the AFC East) and a 30–10 loss to the Miami Dolphins ... started, and six straight to finish the regular season, winning the AFC East and entering the playoffs with a first-round bye ...

Famous quotes containing the word east:

    The East Wind, an interloper in the dominions of Westerly Weather, is an impassive-faced tyrant with a sharp poniard held behind his back for a treacherous stab.
    Joseph Conrad (1857–1924)